GENUKI Home page
Up Peeblesshire Contents Contents

Manor

"MANOR, or MANNER, a parish, containing a post-office station of its own name, in Peebles-shire. It is bounded by Selkirkshire, and by Megget, Drummelzier, Stobo, and Peebles ... Population in 1831, 254; in 1861, 247." from the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Bibliography

The Source of Manor was published in 1999, compiled by Lyne and Manor Youth Group. The book is 288 pages long, and includes many interesting photographs and facts about the Manor Valley. For further details of the book, including its cost, please contact the youth group on email at valan@quista.co.uk

Cemeteries

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Manor deaths for 1820-1848.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1663. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Archives of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the General Register Office for Scotland website.

Description and Travel

A 19th century account of Manor is available online.

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:


Page created by Vivienne S Dunstan.
Last updated: 8th March 2007

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2014
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI.