GENUKI Home page
Up Peeblesshire Contents Contents

Peebles

View a Map of the Area.
"PEEBLES, a parish containing the post-town of Peebles, and lying principally in Peebles-shire, but having a small part in Selkirkshire. It is bounded by Eddlestone, Innerleithen, Traquair, Yarrow, Manor, Stobo, and Lyne. Its length southward is 10 miles; and its greatest breadth is 6 miles ... Population of the entire parish in 1831, 2,750; in 1861, 2,850." from the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Nigel Hardie has transcribed and published parish of Peebles deaths for 1820-1829 and 1830-1847.

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Church History

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1622. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Archives of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the General Register Office for Scotland website.

Correctional Institutions

Graham and Emma Maxwell have indexed the prison registers of Peebles Prison for 1848-1862.

Description and Travel

Two 19th century accounts of Peebles parish and town are available online.

In issue 26 (October 1994) of the Borders Family History Society magazine Jean Moffat's "Know your parish - Peebles" was published on pages 23-25, covering many aspects of the parish.

History

Some relevant books include:

Land and Property

The LDS Family History Library catalogue lists a microfilm version of Burgh registers, Peebles, Peebles, minute books, sasines. The catalogue entry (under Scotland/Peebles/Peebles/Land and Property) suggests that it is a microfilm copy of original records held at the National Archives of Scotland. The microfilm copy in the LDS catalogue should hopefully be viewable at LDS family history centres around the world.

Maps

A reprint of John Wood's plan of Peebles compiled in the early 19th century is available from Caledonian Maps. This was one of a number of plans of Scottish towns compiled during the period 1818-1825, most naming streets and property owners.

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

Town Records

In 1872 the Scottish Burgh Records Society published Charters and documents relating to the Burgh of Peebles, with extracts from the Records of the Burgh, A.D. 1165-1710 edited by W. Chambers. Copies of this rare book are available in a number of libraries. In addition Gordon Johnson has compiled a genealogical index to it and the index can be read on his website.


Page created by Vivienne S Dunstan.
Last updated: 5th September 2011

Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1995-2014
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI.