We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

West Linton

"LINTON, a parish, containing the post-office village of West Linton, and the village of Carlops, in the north-west of Peebles-shire. It is bounded by the counties of Lanark and Edinburgh, and by the parishes of Newlands and Kirkurd ... Population of the parish in 1831, 1,577; and 1861, 1,534."
From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868.

Cemeteries

Pre-1855 inscriptions for the parish are contained in the Scottish Genealogy Society's volume of Peeblesshire Monumental Inscriptions.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

  • St Mungo, Chapel Brae, Scottish Episcopal

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the West Linton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

According to Rev. Findlater writing for the Statistical Account of Scotland in 1791, at that time out of a total of 928 people living in the parish of West Linton, 376 were members of non-conformist congregations. 339 were Burghers, 2 Antiburghers, and 35 people attended the Relief church.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1656. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

Registers for the Associate Congregation at West Linton are available in LDS family history centres around the world. These include christenings for the periods 1747-1754 and 1815-1832, and marriages for the period 1748-1829.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of West Linton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which West Linton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT150517 (Lat/Lon: 55.751218, -3.355789), West Linton which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 831
  • 1791 - 928
  • 1801 - 1064
  • 1811 - 1186
  • 1821 - 1194
  • 1831 - 1577
  • 1861 - 1534
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Pending - The section is active and has a maintainer assigned but a replacement maintainer is being sought. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact Vivienne Dunstan.