We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Eastwood

"EASTWOOD, parish, containing Pollockshaws And Thornliebank towns and Shawlands village, on border of Renfrewshire, near south-west side of Glasgow. Its length is nearly 4 miles; its greatest breadth 3¾ miles; its area 5596 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £61,499. Pop., quoad civilia, 13,915; quoad sacra, 7368. The surface lies at an elevation of from about 30 to about 300 feet above sea-level; is an assemblage of flats, vales, and many swells and small hills with intersections of the White Cart and other streams; and presents, in the aggregate, a very beautiful appearance. Sandstone, limestone, ironstone, and coal are worked. Pollock House, a seat of Sir John M. Maxwell, Bart., is a prominent mansion."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Eastwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Two Established churches, 2 Free churches, a United Presbyterian church, a United Original Secession church, and a Roman Catholic church are in Pollockshaws, an Established church is in Shawlands, and a United Presbyterian church is in Thornliebank."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Eastwood parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1674-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1693-1756 and 1759-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Eastwood which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the GENUKI Gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Eastwood to another place.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Eastwood has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS557583 (Lat/Lon: 55.796425, -4.303377), Eastwood which are provided by:
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Pending - The section is active and has a maintainer assigned but a replacement maintainer is being sought. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact David McFarlane.