GENUKI Home page
Renfrewshire Renfrewshire    Contents Contents

Eastwood

"EASTWOOD, parish, containing Pollockshaws And Thornliebank towns and Shawlands village, on border of Renfrewshire, near south-west side of Glasgow. Its length is nearly 4 miles; its greatest breadth 33/4 miles; its area 5596 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £61,499. Pop., quoad civilia, 13,915; quoad sacra, 7368. The surface lies at an elevation of from about 30 to about 300 feet above sea-level; is an assemblage of flats, vales, and many swells and small hills with intersections of the White Cart and other streams; and presents, in the aggregate, a very beautiful appearance. Sandstone, limestone, ironstone, and coal are worked. Pollock House, a seat of Sir John M. Maxwell, Bart., is a prominent mansion."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

Towns and Villages

Pollokshaws (town)
Shawlands (village)
Thornliebank (town)

Church Records

"Two Established churches, 2 Free churches, a United Presbyterian church, a United Original Secession church, and a Roman Catholic church are in Pollockshaws, an Established church is in Shawlands, and a United Presbyterian church is in Thornliebank."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Eastwood parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1674-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1693-1756 and 1759-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.


Page produced by Louise Smith.
Last updated: 19th May 2003 - Brian Pears