Downtime: The Genuki web service will be unavailable on Tues 24 Apr from 10:00 BST for approximately two hours whilst some software updates are installed.

Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Kilmacolm

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Kilmacolm

"KILMALCOLM, town and parish in lower ward of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish measures 7½ miles by 6½ comprises 19,665 acres. ..... Pop. 2708. The south-eastern section is a shelving valley, traversed by upper part of Gryfe river; the northern section is a slope from left flank of that valley downward to the Clyde; the south-western section is mostly moss; and the western section is mostly waste or pastoral hill. Chief residences are Duchall, Carruth, Finlayston, Broadfield, and villas on the Clyde."

From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.

 

Churches

Presbyterian / Unitarian
Kilmalcolm, Church of Scotland

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kilmalcolm area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kilmalcolm parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1710-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1695-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1817-1832

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kilmacolm which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kilmacolm to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup
topup

History

Various gazetteers differ as to the origin of this placename. For a period in the 18th century, Kilmacolm was generally spelled 'Kilmalcolm', based on a presumption that the settlement's name was derived from Malcolm III, one of the former kings of Scotland. In 1905 the accepted spelling became 'Kilmacolm', the general consensus now is that Kilmacolm takes its name from the Gaelic language meaning a cell or church of Columba, derived from the dedication of its ancient church to St. Columba of Iona.

topup