Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Kirkton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Kirkton

"A parish in the county of Roxburgh, 8 miles long and from 1 to 2½ miles broad. The face of the country presents a continued range of hills, separated only by small rivulets, and gradually ascending from E. to W. The soil is poor and shallow, chiefly adapted for sheep pasture. Population in 1801, 320."

From the Gazetteer of Scotland published 1806, Edinburgh.

Cemeteries

The Borders Family History Society has published a booklet of monumental inscriptions for Cavers and Kirkton.

Census

Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Kirkton may have been the same as the medieval Cavers Parva (Little Cavers). For a discussion of this see The parishes of medieval Scotland by Ian Cowan, published by the Scottish Record Society at Edinburgh in 1967.

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1707. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

The parish registers available worldwide on microfilm include some kirk session records:

  • In part 794/1: minutes and accounts for 1742-1756
  • In part 794/2: accounts for 1705-1819
  • In part 794/3: accounts for 1820-1844

More information on kirk sessions and their records can be found in the Church Records section of the Roxburghshire page.

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Kirkton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kirkton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kirkton to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT540138 (Lat/Lon: 55.415980, -2.728186), Kirkton which are provided by:

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

  • 1755 - 330
  • 1792 - 342
  • 1801 - 320
  • 1811 - 287
  • 1821 - 315
  • 1831 - 294
  • 1861 - 421