GENUKI Logo   Wales Wales   Contents Contents   Towns and Parishes Index Breconshire Towns
& Parishes
  Table of Contents for this Page Information related
to all of Breconshire
 

BRECONSHIRE (BRECKNOCKSHIRE)

 

"The County of BRECKNOCK is 106 Miles in Circumference, contains about 620000 Acres, is divided into 6 Hundreds, in which are 4 Market Towns, out of which only Brecknock, ye Shire Town is represented in Parliament. Has 61 Parishes & about 5034 Houses. The Air is good but sharp, & ye Soil for ye most part hilly, having some pleasant & fruitfull Valleys. The County affords plenty of Corn & Grass, in ye Vales, and ye Rivers abundance of Fish, especially ye Wye & ye Usk, which are full of Salmon, Trout &c." [Emanuel Bowen, Britannia Depicta, 1720]

 

INFORMATION RELATED TO ALL OF BRECONSHIRE

Breconshire

Archives and Libraries

Powys Archives
Provide a series of Local Studies Notes with Sources for Family History and a Guide to Holdings

The National Library of Wales. Aberystwyth. The major repository of information relevant to Welsh genealogy, such as Bishop's Transcripts of Parish Registers, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, Nonconformist Records, Probate Records, Tithe Maps and Apportionment Schedules, Legal and Administrative Records, Estate Records and Personal Papers, Pedigree Books, Newspapers, etc.

Brecon Area Library
Ship Street
Brecon
Powys
LD3 9AE
Telephone: +44 (0) 1874 623346
E-mail: brecon.library@powys.gov.uk
Opening hours: Mon 9:30-17:00; Tue 09:30-19:00; Wed to Fri 9:30-17:00; Sat 09:30-13:00
The library holds copies of Breconshire Census Returns 1841 to 1901.

Powys Museums and Galleries
The National Archives has details of many archive repositories in the UK with links to their websites.

Breconshire section of the Hyde Park Regional Family History Centre's on-line catalogue. The Hyde Park FHC is one of more than 4,800 Family History Centres of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It is the largest such centre outside of North America, and one of more than 100 centres in the British Isles. It holds a good collection of finding aids and a significant collection of primary records, mostly on microfilm. Records are chiefly drawn from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA.

Familia - list of genealogical resources in Public Libraries in Great Britain and Ireland

The Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales (RCAHMW)
In addition to the RCAHMW's on-line Archive Catalogue there is also a Chapels database which will eventually list all known nonconformist chapels in Wales.


Bibliography

Local Books List at Powys Archives

The Brecon & Merthyr Railway, by D. S. Barrie, Oakwood Press, 1980; ISBN 085361 087 8 (first published 1957)
An index of personal names mentioned in the book is available here.


Biography

Davies, Dewi. Some interesting people of Breconshire. 1970. 45p

Morgan, Gwenllian E. F. Biography of Mr. Theophilus Jones : author of 'The History of Brecknockshire'. Brecon : Printed by E. Davies, [1905?] 21p

Thomas, W S K. Footprints in the Sand: Brecknock Notabilities. 1994


Cemeteries

MIs held at Powys Archives - Breconshire

Welsh Gravestone Inscriptions and Graveyard Welsh - guides to interpreting Memorial Inscriptions.

Graveyard Surveys - Over the past twenty years, Gareth Jones has produced surveys of the graveyards of over fifty churches and chapels. Each survey is reproduced on A4 sheets with introduction, full inscriptions, and indexes to personal names and place-names. Some of these surveys are large, e.g. the parish churchyards at Defynnog, Llywel, and Ystradgynlais, and Tynycoed Chapel, Abercrâf. Other Breconshire parishes covered include Llandeilo'r Fân, Llanfihangel Nant Bran, Merthyr Cynog, Llandyfaelog, Llanfihangel Fechan, Battle, Brecon (St David's & St John's), Aberyscir, and Trallwng. For free advice, a full list of surveys, and charges, contact Gareth Jones at gar.fert@yahoo.co.uk.


Census

Breconshire Records for sale by Powys FHS

Brecon Area Library, Ship Street, Brecon, LD3 9AE. (01874) 623346 have copies of 1841 - 1901 census returns for all of Breconshire - as have Powys Archives

FreeCEN is an ongoing volunteer based project to provide a 'free to view' online searchable database of the 19th century UK census returns. Volunteers are being sought for the Wales project, visit Wales FreeCen Project to see each county's status as well as a FAQ for volunteers. The 1891 return is the first to be tackled across the UK.

1841-1871 Breconshire censuses - a free surname (and fee paying) search facility for the 1841-1871 Breconshire censuses is offered by Sid Sharp on his website.

Ancestry.co.uk (the UK arm of Ancestry.com) - access to indexes and images of the complete set of England and Wales censuses from 1841 to 1901 (and other genealogical material), accessible by payment of a subscription fee.


Church History

You may also find it worthwhile searching in the GENUKI church database.

Brecknockshire Churches Survey by the Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust

Dawson, Gerard Finch. The churches of Brecknockshire. Swansea : A.R. Way, 1909. 239p

Eisel, John C. The church bells of Breconshire : their inscriptions and founders. Almeley : Logaston Press, 2002. 142p

Evans, John Thomas. The church plate of Breconshire. : With the Chantry certificates relating the the County of Brecon by the Commissioners of 2 Edward VI (1548)...and appendix on the saints of Breconshire, by the Rev. A.W. Wade-Evans... Stow-on-the-Wold : J. H. Alden, 1912. 160p

Gregory, Donald. The three parsons of Radnorshire (Lloyd, David, d.1838. Rees, William Jenkins, d.1855. Price, John, 1810?-1895, of Paincastle.). Country Quest 26/8 (1986), p. 39-40


Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts is given on the Powys Archives page Breconshire parish registers

Breconshire Records for sale by Powys FHS

Map of Breconshire parishes on Powys Archives

IGI and Familysearch - the searchable Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS) website
IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles
It is not always easy to locate your ancestors on the IGI using the search mechanisms provided at the above LDS site. Manually typing the batch numbers into the IGI search screen can be tedious. Hugh Wallis has made an exhaustive search of the likely ranges of batch numbers and created a database of those numbers and the source records that they apply to. A very powerful feature included is a hotlink from each batch number to the actual search engine provided at the Family Search site, including the ability to enter the surname you are looking for. This makes it very easy to search all the batches for a particular geographic location using just the last name you are searching for - something that is not possible directly from the LDS site without doing a lot of typing. This is Hugh Wallis's site

Ifans, Dafydd [ed]. Cofrestri Anghydfurol Cymru/ Nonconformist Registers of Wales. Aberystwyth, 1994. This book includes Ordnance Survey references for listed chapels.

Jones, I.G. & Williams, D. The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales.   Cardiff, 1976.

Jones, Nansi C. Archdeaconry of Brecon probate records. Aberystwyth : National Library of Wales, 1989. 223p

MacDonald, R W. The Parish Registers of Wales, National Library of Wales journal. 1976, Winter. Volume XIX/4

Williams, C.J. and Watts-Williams, J. Cofrestri Plwyf Cymru: Parish Registers of Wales (National Index of Parish Registers, Vol. 13).Aberystwyth: National Library of Wales, Second edition, 2000.


Civil Registration

Brett Langston has provided details of the Registration Districts in Breconshire for the period 1837 to 1930.

Certificates of birth, death and marriage can be obtained from the Superintendent Registrars at the following District Register Offices:

If ordering from a District Office, please note the following:
(a) the cost of a certificate is currently £7.00 - send a Sterling cheque payable to Powys County Council plus return postage or two International Reply Coupons;
(b) the St Catherine's Index references are of no value;
(c) for marriage certificates, the precise place of marriage must be given;
(d) Civil Registration in England and Wales began on July 1st 1837.

FreeBMD is an ongoing project to make the GRO birth, marriage and death indexes available online - well worth a visit.

findmypast.com (formerly 1837online) - here you'll find the complete BMD indexes of the GRO (and other genealogical material) accessible on a pay-to-view basis.

Ancestry.co.uk (the UK arm of Ancestry.com) - another way of accessing the complete BMD indexes of the GRO (and other genealogical material), accessible by payment of a subscription fee.


Court Records

The Act of 1543 established the courts of Great Sessions in Wales, equivalent to the English Assizes, which continued until 1830 when they were abolished. Details about these records can be searched at Archives Network Wales.

Powys County Archives Office hold records pertaining to Breconshire Quarter Sessions which were established by the same Act although records do not begin until the late seventeenth century. See also their Petty Sessions listing.

Rules and standing orders for regulating the practice of the Court of Quarter Sessions of the County of Brecknockshire : revised Easter 1884. Brecknock, printed by Edwin Poole, 1884; 96pp.

Description and Travel

A Vision of Britain Through Time. "This site contains information about your home area from the 2001 census -- and from every earlier British census back to 1801. It can present this information both as maps of the whole country and as graphs showing change over time in your area. It truly offers a Vision of Britain through time"

Gazetteer of Markets and Fairs in England and Wales to 1516. The Gazetteer compiled by Dr Samantha Letters is a catalogue of markets and fairs in medieval England and Wales. This is the first comprehensive national survey.

Brecknock and Abergavenny Canal on Powys Digital History Project website.

The Brecon & Merthyr Railway, by D. S. Barrie, Oakwood Press, 1980; ISBN 085361-087-8 (first published 1957)
An index of personal names mentioned in the book is available here.

Brecon Beacons National Park Online Guide

Wales Calling site - Brecon Beacons

Powys tourism site

Powys County Council

Barber, Chris, Exploring the Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and waterfall country : a walker's guide. Bristol : Regional Publications (Bristol) Ltd, 1985. 96p

Baker-Gabb, Richard. Hills and vales of the Black Mountain district : on the borders of Brecon, Monmouth and Hereford. Llangrove, Ross-on-Wye : T. Pridgeon, 1976. 81p

Bissel, A F., In the steps of John Ogilby : some old roads of Monmouthshire and Brecknockshire. Abergavenny : Derek Bissell, 2001.

Breconshire (Sir Frycheiniog) official county guide. Gloucester : British Publishing Co., 1973. 80p

Breconshire County Council. Breconshire : statistics prepared by order of the County Council, April, 1893. Brecon : Printed by Edwin Davies, 1893. 71p

Burgess, John. Radnorshire, Montgomeryshire and Breconshire : a guide. Carlisle : John Burgess, 2000. 57p

Children, George. The prehistoric sites of Breconshire : ideology, power and monument symbolism. Almeley : Logaston Press, 2001. 182p

Davies, Dewi. Bridges of Breconshire. [Capel Bangor, Aberystwyth] : Dewi Davies, 1992. 70p

Evans, Christopher J. Breconshire. Cambridge : University press, 1912.

Evans, Gwyn. Views of old Brecknockshire. Brecon : [Gwyn Evans], c1983. 47p

Haynes, Kenneth. Here and there on the Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal : a sketch-book. Newport, Gwent : Starling Press, 1990. 72p

Jones, James R. Pryse's handbook to the Breconshire and Radnorshire mineral springs : with notes and excerpts illustrating the history, antiquities, and topography of many of the surrounding towns and villages. Llanidloes : Pryse, [1859]. 147p

Mason, Edmund J. Portrait of the Brecon Beacons and surrounding areas. London : Hale, 1975. 224p

Morgan, David R. The hillforts of Breconshire. Breconshire Naturalist 41 (1985), p. 15-18

Morgan, David R. The Neolithic tombs of east Breconshire. Breconshire Naturalist 45 (1987), p. 17-21

Rees, Thomas. A topographical and historical description of South Wales... / Brecknockshire. London : [S.N.], 1815. The Beauties of England and Wales

Remfrey, Paul M. Castles of Breconshire. Herefordshire : Logaston Press, 1999. 196p

The Romans in Breconshire and Radnorshire : a field guide. Borth : Atelier Productions, 1995. 96p

Thomas, W S K. Georgian and Victorian Brecon: portrait of a Welsh country town. 1993

Victorian and Edwardian Wales from old photographs. Introduction and commentary by E D Jones. Batsford 1972.


Directories

Trades directories held by Powys Archives

Trades directories held by Swansea Reference Library (PDF file)
      Postal address: Swansea Reference Library, Alexander Road, Swansea SA1 5DX.
      Phone: (0)1792 516757
      E-mail: swansea.libraries@swansea.gov.uk

Directories published on CD by Archive CD Books:


Gazetteers

Search the GENUKI Gazetteer.

The GENUKI Gazetteer covers the whole of England, Wales and Scotland and can be searched by place-name (or part of a place-name) or Ordnance Survey Grid Reference (six-figure, eg NZ183848). If there are multiple place-names matching the name you enter, you will initially be presented with a drop-down list of the matching place-names with their distances and bearings from Cardiff, Wales.

The National Gazetteer of Wales

The section of The National Gazetteer (1868) relating to Brecknockshire - transcribed by Colin Hinson.

Tallis's Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales, published in 1860 in six vols, editor E. L. Blanchard.
See Welsh Family History Archive for all the excellent county maps (showing the hundreds) and the alphabetical gazetteer.
From the preface:
"In the following pages will be found fully described the past history and present aspect of every place of any significance in England and Wales, forming a work of permanent importance to the commercial world, of ready service to the tourist of the day, and of constant interest to the general reader, who may derive from this source a large supply of entertainment, as well as of information for the amusement and instruction of a leisure hour."


Genealogy

Online Welsh Names Directory by Graham Jaunay

Welsh Ancestor List - an all-Wales surnames list provided by John Ball on his Welsh Family History Archive website.

Powys FHS's Strays Index and Publications List

Timeline of genealogically interesting dates, by Gareth Hicks.

The Powys Mailing List established in 1997 and hosted by RootsWeb is the most active mailing list covering the county of Breconshire.

John Fuller has provided full details of the mailing lists serving this county. This is but a small part of the data available on the "Genealogy Resources on the Internet" pages maintained by John Fuller and Chris Gaunt.

Mid-Wales Lookup Exchange

WorldGenWeb Project - Breconshire


History

Powys Digital History Project

Post Roman Celtic Kingdoms - Powys

Castle Wales site - the Kingdom of Powys

An Address Presented to William Rees by the Brecknock Society: the Medieval Lordship of Brecon: (1) Political History; (2) Social and Economic History.

Jones, Theophilus. A History of the County of Brecknock, 4 vols. 1909, 1911, 1930

Lloyd, John E Sir. Historical memoranda of Breconshire : a collection of papers from various sources relating to the history of the County. Brecon : Printed by E. Owen, 1903-04. 2nd pt. of Vol. 2. "The River Usk and the Canal."

Owen, Matthew. Story of Breconshire. Cardiff : Ed. Pub. 1911. 292p

Poole, Edwin. The illustrated history and biography of Brecknockshire from the earliest times to the present day : containing the general history, antiquities, sepulchral monuments and inscriptions ... : illustrated by several engravings and portraits. S.l.] : Printed and published by Edwin Poole, 1886. 495p

Poole, Edwin. The people's history of Brecon (town and county). Brecon : printed by H. B. Wheeler, 1876. 136p

Rees, William. The great forest of Brecknock : a facet of Breconshire history. 1966?. 31p

Silvester, R. J., The Clwyd-Powys Archaeological Trust in Breconshire. Brycheiniog, 29 (1996/1997), 9-10.

Thomas, Hugh. Essay towards the history of Brecknockshire 1698. Brecon : Brecknock County Museum, 1967. 90p


Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land 1873 for all the Welsh counties on Richard Hopkins' site

Gathering the Jewels site - Houses of Breconshire (use on-site search box)

Haslam, Richard. Powys : (Montgomeryshire, Radnorshire, Breconshire). The Buildings of Wales series. Harmondsworth : Cardiff : Penguin ; University of Wales Press, 1979. 436p

Language and languages

Jones, Glyn E. Some features of the Welsh of Breconshire. The use of Welsh: a contribution to sociolinguistics, ed., Martin J. Ball, p. 7-103.

Maps

Map of Breconshire parishes on Powys Archives

Breconshire Old Maps

Welsh county maps by Samuel Lewis and published in 1833

Details of various maps available at Powys Archives

An exceptionally useful set of maps showing parish boundaries, on a one inch to the mile scale, is now available on CD-ROM - see:

Kain, R. J. P., Oliver, R. R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN:4348. For further details, see here.

Military History

Bidgood, Ruth. Breconshire hero of the French wars : [Charles Papps Price]. Country Quest 32/7 (1991), p. 22-3

Retallack, John . The Welsh Guards published (1981) by Frederick Warne (Publishers) Ltd., London.


Names, Geographical

Links to various UK and Ireland gazetteers

Davies, Dewi. Welsh Place-Names of Breconshire and their meanings. 1971

Morgan, Richard. A study of Breconshire place-names. Llanrwst : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 1999. 157p

Powell, R. F. Peter. Notes on a place-name element peculiar to Breconshire [Car]. Brycheiniog 19 1980-1, p. 83-95

Powell, R. F. Peter. The place-names of Devynock Hundred: together with notes on a place-name element peculiar to Breconshire (Appendix). Pen-pont, Brecon : Peter Powell, 1993. 1v


Names, Personal

Welsh Ancestor List on John Ball's Welsh Family History Archive website.

The Brecon & Merthyr Railway, by D. S. Barrie, Oakwood Press, 1980; ISBN 085361 087 8 (first published 1957)
An index of personal names mentioned in the book is available here.


Newspapers

Local newspapers in Powys - listing at Powys Archives


Occupations

Peak District Mines Historical Society - Wales's Mining Industry in 1896 - An Index, includes list of coal mines in Breconshire.

South Wales Mines Database Alphabetical List of Metal Mines in Brecknockshire, Pembrokeshire, Radnorshire and Glamorganshire

Colyer, Richard. The Welsh Cattle Drovers (1976). Re-issued in 2002 by Landmark Publishing Co, with revisions, p192.
Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 1/2/3 National Library of Wales journal. 1972, Winter Volume XVII/4 & 1974 Volume XVIII/3 & 1975 Volume XIX/1
Colyer, R. J. Moore. Further References to the Welsh Cattle Trade. National Library of Wales journal. Volume XXV/3 Summer, 1988. Extract of this article by Bill Griffith-Jones 2002

Periodicals

Cronicl Powys is the Powys Family History Society journal, an index (and some articles) online.


Politics and Government

Powys - A Day in the Life - 1891, Breconshire County Council

Her Majesty's Lord-Lieutenant for Powys

Ord, J P. Sheriffs of Brecknockshire. Tenby : printed by R. Mason, 1865. 21p. "A list of gentlemen who have served the office ... from A.D. 1539 ... to 1864 ..." -- p. [1]. Reprinted from the Cambrian Journal.

Wood, Elizabeth. Thomas Wood M.P. : parliamentary representative for Brecknockshire, 1806-47. [Brecon] : Brecknock Museum, 1978. 32p


Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Workhouses, two separate sites, Workhouse, and Workhouses which links to sites specialising in Asylums, Almshouses, Prisons, Dispensaries, Hospitals, Reformatories, Orphanages, Workhouse & Hospitals List, Workhouses, Poor Law, Industrial Schools.


Religion and Religious Life

Brecon and Radnor Congregationalism: 1662 commemoration volume. Merthyr Tydvil : Joseph Williams & Sons, 1912. 215p

Lewis, Michael R. From darkness to light : the Catholics of Breconshire 1536-1851. Abertillery : Old Bakehouse, 1992. 119p


Schools

Bevan, Robert. Radnorshire schools in 1818. Transactions of the Radnorshire Society 60 (1990), p. 36-40

Social Life and Customs

Welcome to Powys: A Day in the Life - This fascinating digital history project website explores life in Powys in 1891, and compares it with the present day. All information and material for 1891 was drawn from collections throughout the counties of Breconshire, Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire. For the contemporary part of the project, the people of Powys were asked to keep a diary of their day on 24 September 2002.

Bailey, Mabel. Legends and stories of Breconshire. [S.l. : s.n.], [Hay-on-Wye (Powys) : 1909 H.R. Grant] 57p

Davies, Dewi. Law and Disorder in Breconshire 1750-1880. Brecon : D.G. & A.S. Evans, 1991.164p

Harris, Johnathan. The early history of association football in Breconshire. Brycheiniog 28 (1995-6), p. 127-35

Jones, G Penrhyn. Cholera in Wales. National Library of Wales journal Vol X/3 Summer 1958.

More gathered gold : stories of old Breconshire. [Brecon?] : Sennybridge and District Writers' Circle, c1996. 80p

Peate, Iorwerth C. The Welsh House - A Study in Folk Culture. First published in 1940, reprinted by Llanerch Publishers, Felinfach in 2000. ISBN 1 86143 112 0. Here is a review and listing of Contents, Illustrations, Figures and houses/sites mentioned, from the 1940 edition.

Poole, Edwin. The History of Breconshire Charities : borough & county, compiled from official returns and other sources. Brecon : Edwin Poole, [1881?]. 40p

Powell, A A. Crime in Breconshire, 1733 - 1830. 1990

Redwood, Pamela. Life in Elizabethan Breconshire as portrayed in contemporary wills. Brycheiniog 24 (1990-92), p. 43-66

Scourfield , Elfyn . Welsh Rural Life in Photographs. Barry, 1979.

Williams, David H. A Breconshire Boyhood. London : L E M Williams, 1997. 36p


Societies

 

INDIVIDUAL TOWNS AND PARISHES - See Alphabetical Listing

Return to top of page


This county is maintained by John Ball with help and information provided by a number of other volunteers.

Valid HTML 4.0!Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated: 6 July 2008 - John Ball]

Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future.