GENUKI Home page

Caernarvonshire Caernarvonshire    Parish Index Towns & Parishes    Contents Contents

ABERDARON

"ABERDARON, a parish in the hundred of Commitmaen, in the county of Carnarvon, North-Wales, 14 miles S.W. of Pwllheli. It is situated, as its name indicates, at the mouth of the river Daron, at the extremity of the peninsula of Lleyn, and opposite to Bardsey Island. On this island a famous monastery once existed which used to attract a large number of pilgrims. Aberdaron was the usual place of embarkation for the island, and was much frequented by the pilgrims. On the highest ground a chapel was erected, Capel Vair, or "Chapel of Our Lady," in which it was customary to invoke the protection of the Virgin before passing over to the island. There was also another chapel at a little distance from the former, and near the shore, named Capel-Anlaaelog. These have both shared the destiny of the monastery to which they were related, and have fallen into decay." [From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson 2003]

Bibliography

Armstrong, Christopher. R. S. Thomas, priest of Aberdaron. The David Jones Journal, 3 (Summer / Autumn2001), 87-90.

Elliss, Wesley J. The Church of Saint Hywyn, Aberdaron. [Caernarfon] : Cymdeithas Hanes Sir Gaernarfon, [1951] 31p

Humphreys, Hugh. The celebrated Cambrian linguist, or, The history of Dick Aberdaron, who, by his natural talent and perseverance in the face of every disadvantage, worked his way until he was proficient in 35 languages! Carnarvon : Printed and sold by H. Humphreys, [1867?] 48p

Roscoe, William. Memoir of Richard Roberts Jones   (Dic Aberdaron) of Aberdaron : in the county of Carnarvon, in North Wales; exhibiting a remarkable instance of a partial power and cultivation of intellect. London : Printed for T. Cadell, Strand, and J. and A. Arch, Cornhill, 1822. 50p - on google books (complete)

Taylor, Roger. Days to remember at Aberdaron. Country Quest (December 1995), p. 39-40

Business and Commerce Records

Pen y Caerau Woollen Mill Accounts 1873 - 1912 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"A collection of six account books of the Pen y Caerau Woollen Mill, situated near Aberdaron ... "

Robert Thomas, Bryncroes Account Book 1790 - 1821  - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"An account book containing a variety of entries such as goods bought, wages paid out to John Hughes, money lending and investing in shipbuilding in Aberdaron, Pwllheli and Tudweliog..."

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of St Hywen's Church, Aberdaron

St Hywyn's Church, Aberdaron

Aberdaron Church - on Rhiw.com

There are photographs of the following Aberdaron chapels on the Penllyn.com site;
Capel Rhydlios (CM); Capel Saron (CM); Capel Rhoshirwaun (Bethesda) (Baptist)

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Aberdaron chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Aberdaron Parish; Statistics; Area 7078 acres; Population 598 males, 641 females, total 1239

Church Records

Joyce Hinde has supplied a list of Parish Registers held at the Caernarfon Area Record Office.

Aberdaron churchyard - some inscriptions on Alwyn's Godsacre site

Description and Travel

Aberdaron - on the Penllyn.com site

Aberdaron - on Wikipedia

Bardesey/Ynys Enlli - on the Penllyn.com site

Aberdaron & District Tourist Link

Old photographs of Aberdaron - on the Rhiw site

Old photographs of Aberdaron - on the Cimwch site

Welcome to Bardsey Island

People's Collection Wales site - aerial view of Bardsey Island 2000

Aberdaron - on Gwesty Ty Newydd

Emigration and Immigration

On Caryl Williams's site - Emigrants from Aberdaron to the USA  taken from a manuscript (Bangor MSS 16910) deposited at the Dept of Manuscripts, University College, Bangor

Rhiw com site - Emigrants from the parishes of Llanfaelrhys, Rhiw and Aberdaron to America, 1800- 1886

Gazetteers

Genealogy

 Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Land and Property

Hendre (Aberdaron) deeds  1671-1863 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"Hendre otherwise Tir Thomas Rowland is in the parish of Aberdaron, Caernarfonshire. In 1671 Hendre was owned by Rowland Thomas....."

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Gwynedd Family History Society  have a diagram of the ecclesiastical parishes of Caernarfonshire (under Publications)  - with some links to photographs of parish churches

Merchant Marine

Aberdaron Lime & Coal Ships - on the Rhiw site

Public Records

Aberdaron Parish Records 1787 - 1840 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The bulk of this collection consists of accounts relating to disbursements made towards relief of the poor of the parish of Aberdaron and of monies received in taxes, legacies etc. and by the Overseers of the Poor. This material includes accounts relating to Bodernabwy, Carreg, Is Sely, Llidiardau, Penycaerau, Tyddyn, Uwch Sely, and Uwch Mynydd.
The collection also contains documents relating to an assessment of the Poor Rate for the parish for 1793. There is also a list of voluntary subscribers towards the cost of keeping a school on weekdays and Sunday at the Parish Church, Aberdaron ......... There is also material relating to Land Tax Assessments for 1836 and 1837....."

Rev. Henry Hughes, Bryncir Papers 1772-1920 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"......Amongst the transcripts is a copy of the births, marriages, and deaths in the parishes of Aberdaron and Llanfaelrhys between 1761 and 1882....." William Owen Roberts, Plas Llangwnadl Manuscripts 1793-1966   -  details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The collection consists of transcripts of the parish registers of .............Aberdaron, 1814-1944.... "

 


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional [Last updated: 3 Feb 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.