We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanferres

"A parish in the Union of Ruthin, hundred of Yale, county of Denbigh, 4 miles (SW) from Mold, containing 778 inhabitants. ..... It is situated on the north-eastern confines of the county, bordering upon Flintshire, and is watered by the river Alyn, which ..... flowing northward through this parish, adds much interest and beauty to the surrounding scenery. ..... The parish abounds with mineral treasures, and within its limits are some extensive lead-mines, which have been worked from a very early period."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish contains the townships of Llys y Cil, Trecolomendy, and Tresgubor.

 

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 188605.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Berres, was mentioned in the Lincoln Taxation of 1291. It was largely rebuilt in 1774/1775, with additions in 1843. There were further additions, and a major restoration, in 1892.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanferres :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Maeshafn Calvinistic Methodists 137
Bethania Wesleyans 143

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

BaptismsMarriagesBurials
1586 - 1945 1588 - 1990 1587 - 1997

  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

BaptismsMarriagesBurials
1587 - 1810 1588 - 1837 1587 - 1810

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth; and those for the years 1841 to 1842 have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1666 - 1837 1666 - 1837

Deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin Microfilmed copies
1841 - 1842 None

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

Baptisms Marriages
1814 - 1837 1814 - 1837

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanferres was assigned to the No. 1 ("Llanarmon") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanferres are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII.nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b.nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanferres which are provided by:

Llanferres - on wikipedia

Llanferres - News and Views

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanferres has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ189606 (Lat/Lon: 53.136346, -3.213756), Llanferres which are provided by:
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 705.
  • In 1901- the population was 499.
    [Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 3738 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]