Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Caerwys
"Caerwys, a small market town containing, according to the returns made to Parliament, 162 houses, and 773 inhabitants. ... It having been a Roman station, and afterwards a seat of judicature: the assize, or great sessions for the county of Flint being held for several centuries at this place."
[From
North Wales ; Rev. J. Evans, 1812]
Caerwys is one of the "ancient parishes" of Flintshire. It comprises the townships of Tref Edwyn, Tre-dre, Bryngwyn Ucha and Bryngwyn Isa. The town of Caerwys was at one time a place of considerable importance.
- Caerwys chronicle / Caerwys Civic Society. Caerwys : Caerwys Civic Society, 1987-
- Caerwys : London: Ace Books Limited, [1979?].
- Davies, Ellis Canon Caerwys
Church Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 18 1960 Welsh
Journals Online
- Eisteddfodau Caerwys. Caerdydd : Gwasg Prifysgol Cymru, 1968.
- Evans, R. Paul. Reverend John Lloyd of Caerwys (1733-93)
Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 31 1983/4 Welsh
Journals Online
- Evidence of Mr. Henry Taylor ... given before the Municipal Corporation Commissioners, on the unreformed Flintshire corporations of Caergwrle, Caerwys, Overton, & Rhuddlan, etc. Flint : Thos. Jones, [1877.]
- Hughes, Owen (ed).
Caerwys Royal Charter celebrations Caerwys : Caerwys Royal Charter Committee, 1990
- Jones, Kitty Idwal.
Cerddi Caerwys 1968 / cyhoeddwyd ar ran Pwyllgor Gwyl Dathlu Eisteddfod Caerwys Mold : K.I. Jones, [1969]
- Lloyd, George A pre-reformation lych gate at Caerwys Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 18 1960 Welsh
Journals Online
- Lloyd-Roberts, Tom. Caerwys to Pompeii
Country Quest 32/1 (1991), p. 8-9
- Lloyd-Roberts, Tom. Church of fighting dragons [at Caerwys] .
Country Quest 33/3 (1992), p. 6-7
- Lloyd-Roberts, Tom. The great battle of Caerwys camp
Country Quest. 35 (July 1994), p. 25-27
- Roberts, Mary. Y Fonesig Ruth Lewis, Plas Penucha, Caerwys
Llafar Gwlad 33 (1991), p. 20-1
- Scarll, Peter and Joe Phillips. Circular walk Caerwys area
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2001), p. 21-22 and (2001), p. 56-59
- Smith, Janet. Hên Caerwys
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, 2009, p. 34-39
- The roll of the Caerwys Eisteddfod of 1523 / introduction by J.H. Davies. [Liverpool : Hugh Evans + Sons, 1910.]
- Trefnlen cyfarfodydd Eisteddfod Freiniol Gymreig Cymru, yr hon a gynhelir Awst 31ain, a Medi 1af a'r 2il, 1886, yn Nghaerwys, Swydd Gallestr Denbigh : T. Gee and Son, [1886?]
Church History
See Welsh
Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Caerwys, St Michael
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 127728
The earliest recorded mention of the church dates from AD 1291.
"The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is a neat edifice, with a square embattled tower, consisting of a nave and north aisle, and appropriately accommodated to the use of the parishioners."
[From
Handbook for the Vale of Clwyd , William Davis, 1856]
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Caerwys:
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Sion - Welsh |
Baptist |
40 |
| Bethel |
Calvinistic Methodist |
140 |
| Penycefn |
Calvinistic Methodist |
105 |
| Not named |
English Presbyterian |
90 |
| Not named - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
112 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1673 - 1957 |
1673 - 1983 |
1673 - 1936 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1673 - 1812 |
1673 - 1812 |
1673 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1666 - 1842 |
1666 - 1842 |
I.G.I.
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Michael's Church, Caerwys.
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Caerwys area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Pen-y-cefn |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1827 - 1835 |
C098291 |
| Bethel |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1810 - 1836 |
C098281 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Caerwys area are held at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Penycefn |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1878 - 1983 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Caerwys was assigned to the No. 1 ("Whitford") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Caerwys are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Caerwys Town Council
Caerwys - on wikipedia
Caerwys photographs - on geograph.org.uk
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesOn Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Population
- In 1831- the population was 985.
- In 1901- the population was 739.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 2603 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 8 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks