Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Treuddyn (Tryddyn)
"This place, which is situated among lofty hills in a rich mineral district, in the south eastern part of the county, abounds with coal and ironstone of superior quality; and within the last few years some very extensive works have been established here, which are carried on with very great success. .... About four hundred and fifty men are constantly employed in the collieries and other works at this place."
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, S. Lewis, 1834]
Treuddyn is regarded as being one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire; although, to be strictly accurate, it was a chapelry of the ancient parish of Mold until it officially became a separate parish on 27 May 1844. In practice, Treuddyn had long operated as a separate parish, although it was held jointly with Nercwys until 1832.
In many Civil Registration records, and Census returns, the name appears as "Tryddyn". This was officially changed to "Treuddyn" in 1938.
- Lloyd, Philip (ed)
Treuddyn Treuddyn : Pwyllgor Mileniwm Treuddyn Millennium Committee, 2002.
- Roberts, Bethan.
Healer of Treuddyn
Country Quest 30/3 (1989), p. 34
- Roberts, Elwyn.
Hanes Eisteddfod Treuddyn 1863-1999 Treuddyn : Pwyllgor Eisteddfod Gadeiriol Treuddyn, 1999.
Cemeteries
In addition to the churchyard at St. Mary's parish church, there is a public cemetery at Ffordd-y-Rhos, Treuddyn. (OS ref. SJ 248581)
The cemetery, which is known locally as "Mynwent y Rhos", was opened about 1953, and is still in use.
The opening time is 8.00 a.m. until sunset.
The cemetery records, from 1953 to date, are held at the Flintshire County offices in Flint.
Researchers who wish to see the cemetery records
mustmake a prior appointment, by contacting :
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 254581.
The old church had fallen into a dilapidated and insecure condition, and was demolished in 1874. A new building was erected on the same site, and opened on 5 August 1875.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Tryddyn
(sic):
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Not named |
Calvinistic Methodist |
182 |
| Not named - Welsh |
Congregational |
125 |
| Bethlehem - Welsh |
United Methodist Free Church |
80 |
| Pisgah |
United Methodist Free Church |
86 |
| Not named - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
205 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1611 - 1923 |
1618 - 1908 |
1613 - 1857 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1611 - 1812 |
1618 - 1812 |
1613 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1667 - 1850 |
1672 - 1834 |
I.G.I.
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Mary's, Treuddyn.
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Treuddyn area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Jerusalem / Capel y Rhos |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1826 - 1837 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Treuddyn area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Jerusalem / Capel y Rhos |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births, Baptisms and Deaths |
1926 - 1970 |
| Jerusalem / Capel y Rhos |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Marriages |
1930 - 1940
1971 - 1988 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Treuddyn was assigned to the No. 1 ("Hope") sub-district of the Wrexham Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Wrexham poor law Union.
On 1 August 1871, Treuddyn was transferred to the Hawarden poor law Union (established 1853); and for civil registration purposes, it was assigned to the No. 4 (" Hawarden") sub-district of the Chester Registration District.
On 1 January 1903, the sub-district of Hawarden was upgraded to a Registration District in its own right.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Treuddyn are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1871: Wrexham 11b.
nnn
- Years 1871 - 1902: Chester 8a.
nnn
- Years 1903 - 1946: Hawarden 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
localSuperintendent Registrar's Office)
Treuddyn community site
Treuddyn - on wikipedia
Treuddyn photographs - on geograph.org.uk
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- the population was 829.
- In 1901- the population was 1245.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 3554 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 9 Feb 2011 - Gareth Hicks