For full and up-to-date details of their holdings see the sites of Glamorgan Record Office and/or West Glamorgan Archives
The church is dedicated to St. Thomas, is in the Benefice of Tonypandy with Clyach Vale, and diocese of Llandaff. Details of the present incumbent of this benefice can be found at the Church in Wales website. The church can be located at grid reference SS982930.
|Anglican Parish Registers
|No Registers have been deposited yet
|Non Conformist Registers Deposited at the Glamorgan Record Office, Cardiff
||OS Map Ref
Images of the Rhondda Valley site
Historic Landscape Characterisation: The Rhondda - on the CADW site.
Fully explore the site - there are separate detailed sections for places in the area
Clydach Vale - on the Rhondda Cynon Taf Libraries Heritage Trail site
Cambrian Colliery, Clydach Vale on the Welsh Coal Mines site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Cambrian Colliery, Clydach Vale 1927-1965 "Cambrian Colliery was situated in Clydach Vale,Rhondda. The No. 1 Pit was sunk by the Cambrian Colliery Company in 1872 and was followed by the No. 2 Pit in 1874 and the No.3 Pit between May 1889-June 1891. In 1895, the company became a public limited company, and was renamed Cambrian Collieries Ltd. Despite this initial success, the company suffered a major disaster in 1905 when 31 miners were killed at the colliery. In 1906, the company chairman, David Alfred Thomas (later Lord Rhondda), devised a plan to link the Rhondda coal companies to form the 'Cambrian Combine'. This allowed each of the companies to work and operate individually but provided a method were they could work together in order to regulate prices and wages in the coalfield. Members of the Combine included the Cambrian, Glamorgan, Naval and Britannic Merthyr Companies.........................................."
- J. Evans (Blaenclydach) "Cambrian Colliery price list (photocopy) 1902"
Clydach Vale in the Parish of Ystradyfodwg [Last Updated : 31 Oct 2010 - Gareth Hicks]