Pembroke
Contents
PEMBROKE: ST MARY
"The livings of all the three parishes of St. Mary, St. Michael, and St. Nicholas, are consolidated into one discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £9, (viz., £4 for St. Michael's, and £5 for that of Monkton, or St. Nicholas, St. Mary's not being in charge,) and in the gift of Sir John Owen, Bart. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, is an ancient and venerable structure, in the Norman style of architecture, situated near the centre of the town, and composed of a nave, chancel, and north aisle, with a small chapel on the southern side: in the north aisle and in the chancel are doorways, now closed up, which formerly communicated with additional buildings no longer standing. . . Each of these churches had anciently chapels of ease, situated a little distance without the walls of the town; and on the summit of an eminence, about three-quarters of a mile to the south of the town, still stands an ancient ecclesiastical edifice, dedicated to St. Daniel, with a lofty spire rising from a low tower, now private property. The chapel within the dock-yard is not consecrated, and is in the patronage of the Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty. There are places of worship for Baptists and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists. A grammar school was founded here, in 1690; but its endowment does not exceed £10 per annum. A National school for the united parishes (including therefore the village of Monkton), in which two hundred children of both sexes receive gratuitous instruction, is supported by subscription: the school is held in a house in the town, hired for the purpose, which is also appropriated to the use of a savings-bank . . ." [From
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1833).]
The 1851 census for this parish has been indexed by Dyfed Family History Society.
Census Returns for this parish have the following LDS Call Numbers:
- 1841 Census - 0464346
- 1851 Census - 0104234
- 1861 Census - 0543243
- 1871 Census - 0850853/4
- 1881 Census - 1342303
- 1891 Census - 6099638
PEMBROKE DOCK, St. John the Evangelist
1844-1866 - on the Church plans online site
PEMBROKE, Mission Church, Penmar
1879 - on the Church plans online site
PEMBROKE, St. Mary
1877-1884 - on the Church plans online site
PENNAR, St. Patrick 1891-1896 - on the Church plans online site
Some church and chapel data from
The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by
I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,
Cardiff, 1976. The names are those of the informants
- St John's. Pembroke Dock New Parish under provisions 6&7 Vict. cap. 37 Situated at Pembroke Dock, in the new Parish Town of Pembroke Dock Consecrated on 29th Sept 1848 by Bishop of St David's; Mother Church, St Mary's Pembroke Cost defrayed by £500 from Admiralty, £3000 Inhabitants Geoff. Fitzroy Kelly MA, Incumbent
- St Mary Church Informant; Jos. Lewis, Registrar
- Chapel of Her Majesty's Dock Yard Pembroke Situated within the Walls of the Yard, in the Parish of St John's. Neither consecrated nor licensed Erected by Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty James H Mallet, Chaplain of Her Majesty's Dockyard
- Bethany chapel, Pembroke Dock Baptist Erected in 1818 "Sickness is very prevalent among the members and the congregation at this time. Several families were absent on that account last Lord's Day....." Henry James Morgan, Minister, Front St
- Baptist chapel Obtained by the Baptists in 1836 "The chapel was erected as a dwelling house afterwards occupied by the Wesleyan Body, and taken by us in 1836; since then it has been considerably improved" Thomas Morgan, Minister
- Tabernacle Independents or Congregationalists Erected in 1812 [Signature illegible] Deacon
- Preaching Room, Castle Back Primitive Methodist Fitted up for worship in 1839 John Jones, Steward, Main St
- Gishom chapel [?], Pembroke Dock CM Erected in 1838 John Adams, Secretary, Pembroke Dock
- Bethel Baptist Erected in 1844 "The lower number [in Attendances] shows increase which is accounted for by the fact of the weather being more favourable and therefore the attendance is something larger in the Summer season than in the autumn and winter. Some have also lately left for other and distant places" Evan Davies, Minister, Lewis St, Pembroke Dock
- Wesley chapel, Meyrick St, Pembroke Dock WM Erected in 1848 "This Chapel was built in lieu of one that was too small, not on the same site but on a more central part of the town. The old Chapel was built in the year 1820 and disposed of in 1849" John Road, Steward, Shipwright, Meyrick St, Pembroke Dock
- Temperance Hall Independent " is at present used as a place of worship. A Chapel being in course of erection to be called 'Meyrick Street Chapel' ....." William Burdwood, Treasurer
- Zion, Pembroke Dock Primitive Methodist Erected in 1849 John Maylard, Minister, Hobbs Point
- St Mary's Roman Catholic Erected four years Oliver Maybury [?], Priest, Dimand St, Pembroke Dock
- Tabernacle, North Brewery St Ind Erected in 1824 Charles Sumpter, Deacon, 7 Queen St
- Bethel, West Gate CM Erected in 1826 William Powell, Minister
Parish entry for St Mary from
The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by Archive CD Books).
- St Mary
- &
- St Daniel's Mort Church
- Incumbent and Curates; H Rosser
- Rural Deanery of Castlemartin
- Acreage 1,339; Population 2,204
Parish entry for Pembroke Dock and Nash with Upton from
The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by Archive CD Books).
- St John B (Acreage 1,096; Population 10,653)
- & St Patrick
- & St Teilo
- & St Mary (Nash) (Acreage 598; Population 100)
- & Upton Chapel (disused) (Acreage 333)
- Incumbent and Curates; J J Davies (E Jenkyns; R H Davies; E L Saunders)
- Rural Deanery of Castlemartin
Hughes, Basil.
Jottings on the History of South Pembrokeshire - St Daniel's Church (Pembroke) ISBN 1 898687 01 3 A history of the church and those associated with it
Williams, A. H. (Albert Hughes). John Wesley's preferment to St. Daniel's Church, near Pembroke.
Proceedings of the Wesley Historical Society 48 (1992), p. 155
Parish registers: Christenings (1711-1961), Marriages (1711-1915), Burials (1711-1950) at NLW
Marriages Banns (1924-68) at Pem.RO
Mf Copies Christenings (1711-1961), Marriages (1711-1915), Burials (1711-1950) at Pem.RO
Copy ts PR M pre 1813 with index at NLW and Pem.RO
Bishops' Transcripts, covering the period (1799-1807, 1809-88) are at the National Library of Wales, and have been microfilmed by the LDS - Call Number: 0105196.
Owen Vaughan has indexed the following entries from Pembroke, St Mary parish registers
Baptism 1711 - 1961, Mrge 1711 - 2006, Burial 1711 - 1950 Contact him via the Pembrokeshire Lookup Exchange
Nonconformist Chapels:
- Bethany, in High St/Pembroke Dock [Baptists, 1818]. Records ; births 1814-37, at PRO RG4/3965, and have been microfilmed by the LDS - Call Number: 819966, IGI
On Dyfed FHS
- Bethel, in Meyrick St / Bush St/Pembroke Dock [Baptists, 1845]. Records ; See Bethany
On Dyfed FHS
- Chapel, in Pembroke town [Baptists, 1831]. Records ; See Bethany
Mount
Pleasant English Baptist, East Back SM9878001407 Built 1831, modified, altered or rebuilt 1859 and restored 1877
Still open 1998 Coflein
On Dyfed FHS
(under Pembroke, St Michael - it appears to be right on parish line with
St Michaels but under St Mary's in Rawlins)
- Gilgal Baptist chapel, Ferry Rd / Nelson St, Pennar, Pembroke Dock SM9619802483 Built 1862,
rebuilt in 1887 Still open 1998 Coflein On Dyfed FHS
-
- Bethel, in Westgate [Calvinistic Methodists, 1826] On Dyfed FHS
Westgate CM chapel, Westgate Hill,Pembroke - still open in 2006
- St Peter's Chapel , in Llanreath village [Calvinistic Methodists, 1885]
On Dyfed FHS
- Gershom, CM, Queen St, Pembroke Dock [Calvinistic Methodists, 1838]
SM9659203599 Built 1838,
modified, altered or rebuilt 1866. See Zion PM below Coflein
- St Andrews CM chapel, Bush Street, Pembroke Dock - still open in 2006
SM9689503276 Built 1838, rebuilt in1865-66,
modified, altered or rebuilt 1883 and 1896 Still open
2000 Coflein On Dyfed FHS
-
- Castle Back, in Castleback [Primitive Methodists, c 1823-30]. Records ; baptisms, 1847-1907. Other types of records deposited at the Record Office include accounts, minute books etc, Pem RO.
Rawlins
describes as "society formed between 1823/1830; a preaching room
was fitted out for worship; branch of Pembroke Dock Station". On Dyfed FHS
(under Pembroke, St Michael - it appears to be right on parish line with
St Michaels but under St Mary's in Rawlins)
- Zion
Primitive Methodist chapel, Prospect Place / South Park St, Pembroke Dock [Primitive Methodists, 1849]. Records ; baptisms, 1847-1907. Other types of records deposited at the Record Office include accounts, minute books etc, Pem RO.
SM96510318 Built in 1849.
Not still open 1998
This
Primitive Methodist cause was begun ca. 1845 (Rawlins): its "little chapel at
the top of South Park Street" (Mrs S. Peters, History of Permbroke Dock, 1905)
was built in 1849 (Rawlins); in 1866 the congregation moved to Gershom Chapel
- see above) and the 1849 chapel was sold Coflein On Dyfed FHS
-
- Trinity, Meyrick Street , in Pembroke Dock [Independents, 1851]
On Dyfed FHS
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas.
Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History
of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here
is the entry from this book for this chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation
by Maureen Saycell (April 2008)
- Tabernacle, in Main St [Independents, 1691, present church began c
1800, Pembroke town]
SM9870401318 Built 1811,
rebuilt as the present structure in 1867 Still open 1993 Coflein
On Dyfed FHS
(under Pembroke, St Michael - it appears to be right on parish line with
St Michaels but under St Mary's in Rawlins)
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas.
Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History
of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here
is the entry from this book for this chapel (in Welsh ) - Tabernacle, in Albion Sq,
Pembroke Dock [Independents, 1824, Pembroke Dockyard]. Records ;
births and bapts, 1825-37, at PRO RG4/3056, and have been microfilmed by the LDS - Call Number: 819966, IGI.
On Dyfed FHS
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas.
Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History
of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here
is the entry from this book for this chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation
by Maureen Saycell (April 2008) -
- Zion Wesleyan Chapel, in Meyrick St/Pembroke Dock [Wesleyan Methodists, 1820]. Records ; 1. Births and bapts in three registers, 1821-58, at PRO RG4/3966, 3917, 3918, and have been microfilmed by the LDS - Call Number: 819966, IGI. 2. Births and bapts, 1847-1937 and a large collection of other records are also deposited at the Records Office including accounts, minute books , Sunday School papers etc, at Pem RO.
SM9667403435 First chapel, Ebenezer
(see below), built 1818-20, with the present chapel built 1848, alterations 1857,
enlarged 1865-7, internal alterations 1882-5, renovation 1911
& 1986. Still open 2000 Coflein On Dyfed FHS
- Ebenezer Wesleyan chapel, Wesley Row, Treowen, Pembroke Dock SM9602
Opened 1820,
closed 1846 See above Coflein
- Pennar Wesleyan chapel, Nelson St, Pennar, Pembroke Dock SM9613502541 Built 1870 Coflein On Dyfed FHS
- Trinity Wesleyan chapel, Pembroke Ferry, Pembroke Dock Pembroke
Ferry English Methodist (Trinity), Pembroke Ferry SM9754604661 Built 1879
Still open 2000 Coflein On Dyfed FHS
- Pembroke Wesleyan Methodist chapel, East Back / Main St, Pembroke SM9876801350 Built 1822,
rebuilt mid C19 Not still open 1993 Coflein
- Front St Wesleyan Methodist schoolroom, Front St, Pembroke Dock SM9603 A Sunday School in 1905
Coflein
- Old chapel ar rear of 87 Main St SM9863901332 Building 14' x 12' very thick walls, a two storey stone structure. Possible of
medieval origins with a 16th century doorway. John Wesley preached there on
visits to Pembrokeshire in the 1760s. Coflein
-
- St Joseph Roman Catholic Church, Pembroke On Dyfed FHS
?
- St Joseph RC Church, Pembroke, St Mary On Dyfed FHS
?
- St Mary RC church, Pembroke Dock On Dyfed FHS
-
- Spritualist church, Queen St, Pembroke Dock SM9651203584 A house of c1890 converted to a Spiritualist Church Coflein
On Dyfed FHS
- Commercial Row Gospel Hal (Plymouth Brethren)l SM9603 Coflein
- Pembroke Haven Evangelical church, Main St, Pembroke SM983015 Built in 1850s, converted to an Evangelical Church
Still open 1993 Coflein
-
- Dockyard chapel, Commercial Row SM9628003486 Built 1830-2 Not
still open 2002 No denomination given Coflein
-
- The Green, Salvation Army Citadel, Woodbine Terrace, Pembroke SM9839101731
Coflein
- Meyrick St Salvation Army Citadel, Pembroke Dock SM96750333 Taken over by The Salvation Army in 1883 but now demolished
Coflein
-
- Kingdom Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses, Front St, Llanion Hill, Pembroke
Dock SM966037 A
Church converted from an Army Mess Hall. Still open 1993 Coflein
Hughes, Basil.
Baptisms at St Patrick's Church Pennar Pembroke Dock 1895 to 1934 . ISBN 1 898687 11 0 This is a complete list in alphabetical order of all baptised at St Patrick's Church Pennar Pembroke Dock from the foundation of the Church till 1934. It includes parents names.
Pembroke Dock, St John [formed out of St Mary in 1844]
Parish registers: Christenings (1844-1927) Garrison (1856-1906) Dockyard (1875-1926) Pennar (1895-1967), Marriages (1848-1951, 1965-76) Banns (1848-1971), Burials (1844-1977) Garrison (1861-1922) at Pem.RO
BTs: (1844-86) at NLW
Dyfed FHS have published a series of indexes of baptisms, marriages and burials from Pembrokeshire hundreds for various periods.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Pembroke Dock County Court Records 1896-1922
Places, villages, farms etc within Pembroke St Mary parish as shown on the parish map on the CD of
Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Barry Johnson)
- Pembroke St Mary (150); Bangeston, Bush, Bush Cottage, Bush Camp, East Pennar, Golden Hill, Green, Hobbs Point, Lanion, Llanreath, Mead Lo., Pembroke Dock, Pembroke Ferry, Sykemoor, Waterloo, Whetstone Hill, Windmill Hill, Windsor Hill.
The following places are shown in an
adjacent undesignated parish section which is believed to belong to this parish;
Brotherhill; Mutton Hill; Slade.
Carradice, Phil.
Pembroke Dock in old picture postcards .Netherlands : European Library, 1987.175p
Cripps, Brian.
Pembroke and Pembroke Dock : postcards of yesteryear .Llandysul : Gomer, 1996.116p
Mason, ?.
Guide to Pembroke Dock. 1914
Pembroke Dock Town Council
Pigot & Co. South Wales Directory for 1844. Here are Extracts for Pembroke, Pembroke Dock (or Pater) and Neighbourhoods
Genealogy
Griffiths, Bill. The Allen families of Pembroke Dock.
Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 6/2 Dec 1997. "..some interesting Allen families that populated the dockyard town of Pater or Pembroke Dock, founded in 1814..."
May, Rosemary. Lt Col Samuel Ferrior of Pennar - killed at Waterloo 18 June 1815.
Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 8/1, Dec 2002.
Newbury, Paul. ISITT of Pembroke Dock.
Dyfed FHS journal,1996/7 An account of two generations of the Isitt family, from 1800 to 1902, and their connections with the Royal Naval Dockyard.
Rose, Richard.
Pembroke People. Otterquill Books, London, 1/2001.(ISBN 0-9535542-0-1) .A detailed account of every person who lived and worked in Pembroke and Pembroke Dock between 1800 and 1830.
There are historical snippets about this parish on Not everyone knows this..
Pembroke Dock Community site. Includes Pembroke Dock history and heritage pages
A history of Pembroke Dock, in this parish, is given in the transcription of the Lewis extract for Pembroke.
Carradice, Phil.
The book of Pembroke Dock : the story of a town created to build ships .Birmingham : Barracuda, 1991.124p
Carradice, Phil. The ill-fated ships of Pembroke Dock.
Picture Postcard Monthly 147 (1991), p. 42-3
Gilson, Paul. The Admiralty extension at Pembroke Dock : the Pembroke and Tenby railway extension and its relations with the Admiralty .
Welsh Railway Archive 1 (1994), p. 286-91
Hughes, Basil.
Jottings on the History of Pennar, Pembroke Dock . ISBN 1 898687 04 8 . Among many names associated with Pennar it includes all those victims of the Cholera epidemic
Peters, [E E] Stuart Mrs.
The History of Pembroke Dock. London,1905.173p.
Phillips, Lawrence. An interesting frigate from Pembroke Dockyard : H.M.S. Constance of 1846 .
Mariner's Mirror 73 (1987), p. 61-9
Phillips, Lawrence. Captain Sir Thomas Sabine Pasley, Bt.,R.N., and Pembroke Dockyard, 1849-1854.
Mineralogical Magazine 71/2 (1985), p. 159-65
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Meyrick family and Bush estate, records "Papers relating mainly to the management of urban properties in Pembroke
Dock including leases, tenancy agreements and rentals 1766-1969;
correspondence and files, 1907-1968; accounts, tax papers, etc.,
1874-1970; general estate papers, 1814-1970; maps and plans, 1738-1960.
..............................."
- Meyrick Owen [a solicitor in Pembroke Dock] collection of Pembroke and St Florence papers
"Records collected by J. A. Meyrick Owen, 1609-1970, relating to Pembroke and St Florence, Pembrokeshire."
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
The Gathering the Jewels site has material for this parish, use the onsite search box
Pembroke-Dock Mechanics' Institute.
Rules and catalogue of books of the Pembroke-Dock Mechanics' Institute : established July, 1850. Pembroke-Dock : Printed by William G. Phillips, 1864. 80p
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Pembroke Dock Harlequins Rugby Club, records 1923-1999
- Pembroke Dock Co-operative
Society Limited 1887-1967
[Gareth Hicks: 20 April 2008]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. GENUKI is a registered trademark. |