We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"ABEREDW (ABER-EDWY), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 4 1/2 miles (S. E.) from Builth, containing 344 inhabitants. It derives its name from being situated at the mouth of the river Edwy, which, after flowing through the parish, empties itself into the Wye, the latter river here forming the line of boundary between the counties of Radnor and Brecknock : the Edwy is only a small stream, famous for its trout and eels. The surface of the parish is rocky and uneven, and the scenery pleasing and frequently picturesque : the view from the churchyard is extremely beautiful. The petty sessions for the hundred are occasionally held here. The living is a rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £ 12. 13. 4., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Cewydd, is a plain building, ........"  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)


Charters, Alan. Aspects of Aberedw. Aberedw : Alan Charters, 1998. 26p

Cole, E J L      Aberedw Castle             Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 21 1951 Welsh Journals Online  

Edwards, Anthony. Battles for Wales : massacre at Aberedw. Cambria 2/5 (1999), p. 44-6

Mostyn, J          Log-books; Aberedw mixed National school       Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 19  1949     Welsh Journals Online

Tudor, C L R. Some notes historical & descriptive of the churches and parishes of Aberedw and Llanfaredd. Cardiff : Western Mail, 1917. 56p



You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aberedw area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St Cewydd, Aberedw on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

St Cewydd Church, Aberedw on the Castle Wales site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Aberedw chapel (in Welsh)   - with translation

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Aberedw Parish; Statistics; Area 4300 acres; Population 171 males, 159 females, total 330

  • Aberedw Parish Church   Attendance - (average) morning 25 + 6 scholars, afternoon 50 + 8 scholars (alternately ?)   1 service in English    "There is no Sunday School in the winter months" W Rupell, Rector
  • Independents   Licensed 1830     "Part of a dwelling house, not used exclusively as a place of worship"      Attendance - morning 12 scholars, evening 60           David Williams, Independent Minister, Aberedw

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1740-1991; Marriages 1740-1971; Burials 1740-1992; Banns 1813-1953
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, SOG and/or Powys Archives.  Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Society of Friends, papers  "Including marriage register for the Congregational Church, Aberedw, Builth, Radnorshire, 1899-1968.........."

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aberedw which are provided by:

Aberedw Castles on the Castle Wales site

Aberedw Castle - on wikipedia

Carneddau and Aberedw Hills in winter - on the Jane WLKS  site


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aberedw has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Aberedw War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Lord Merthyr of Senghenydd Collection     "Including Deeds relating to the Baskerville family and Baskerville Rickards Mynors family of Aberedw, Radnorshire, 1673-1867......"  
  • Penybont Hall (Radnorshire) Deeds   1728-1913           "Including  the manor of Aberedw and other properties in Radnorshire........................."


Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO080473 (Lat/Lon: 52.116304, -3.345052), Aberedw which are provided by:


Aberedw School group photograph - on flickr

Social life and Customs

Powys - A Day in the Life  - Health Care - Robert Morris of Aberedw


Return to top