GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANBADARN FAWR

" LLANBADARN-VAWR (LLAN-BADARN-VAWR), a parish in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, comprising the village of Pen y Bont, ........................... containing 491 inhabitants. It is situated on the river Ithon : the high road from Builth to Newtown runs through it, ............... : the only mansion is Pen y Bont Hall, the residence of  I. C. Severn, Esq. ; ................ The village of Pen y Bont, the post-Office at which is dependent on those at Kington and Rhaiadr,................... The living is a discharged rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at 7. 12. 6., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Paternus, is situated about a mile and a half from Pen y Bont, ................There are places of worship for Anabaptists and Calvinistic Methodists, ............ There are two small bequests of ten shillings per annum each for the poor, one paid out of the tenement of Cwm Trallong, in this parish, and the other out of a farm called Lluest, in that of Llandewi Ystradenny. Near Pen y Bont there is a chalybeate spring, .............. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is 185. 9............"  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanbadarn Fawr parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church of St Padarn, Llanbadarn Fawr on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Padarn's Church   -   also   Welsh Chapels and Churches

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanbadarn-fawr Parish; Statistics; Area 3646 acres; Population 221 males, 212 females, total 433

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

History

Bridge collapse at Llanbadarn Fawr, 1923  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llanbadarn Fawr


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 15 Nov 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI