Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llansteffan / Llanstephan

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llansteffan / Llanstephan

"LLANSTEPHAN, a parish in the hundred of Painscastle, county Radnor, 6 miles W. of Hay, its post town, and 7 S.E. of Builth. It is situated on the rivers Bachwy and Wye. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of St. David's, value £67, in the patronage of the bishop. The church is dedicated to St. Stephan. The charities amount to about £8 per annum." ( The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland

Bibliography

Mostyn, J Major         A Radnorshire Terrier  (from the Tithes of Llanstephan)           Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 31  1961    Welsh Journals Online

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llansteffan / Llanstephan area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St Steffan, Llanstephan on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Llanstephan Parish; Statistics; Area 2407 acres; Population 143 males, 112 females, total 255

  • Llanstephan Parish Church             Attendance - afternoon 70            1 service in English           William Morgan Williams, MA., Officiating minister

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1696-1981; Marriages 1697-1971; Burials 1696-1980; Banns 1884-1962
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llansteffan / Llanstephan which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for Llansteffan / Llanstephanf rom the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llansteffan / Llanstephan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

 

 

Llansteffan / Llanstephan


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO119421 (Lat/Lon: 52.070200, -3.286765), Llansteffan / Llanstephan which are provided by: