BARROW-ON-TRENT, Derbyshire
Census
- The parish was in the Melbourne sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year |
Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1841 | H.O. 107 / 188 |
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2489 |
Return to top of page
Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Wilfrid (often spelled "Wilfred").
- The church seats 157.
- For more on the church visit the St. WIlfrid's Church website.
Return to top of page
Church Records
- The Anglican parish register dates from 1657.
- The London Family History Centre has the parish registers on microfilm for 1662 through 1946. They also have the Bishop's Transcripts for 1676 through 1868.
- The same records are available at the Derby Local Studies Library.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Melbourne.
- The Congregationalists had a chapel here before 1891.
Return to top of page
Civil Registration
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Melbourne sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
Return to top of page
Description and Travel
"BARROW-ON-TRENT, a parish in the hundreds of Appletree and Morleston, in the county of Derby, 3 miles E. from Willington railway station, and 6 miles to the S. of Derby, its post town. It is situated on the north bank of the river Trent, and contains the chapelries of Stenson and Twyford, and the liberty of Sinfin-with-Arleston. The Grand Trunk canal passes through the parish."
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
The parish lies 132 miles north of London and covers 1,130 acres. In 1891 it included the townships of Sinfin and Arleston and parts of Twyford and Stenson. There is bus service to and from both Melbourne and Derby city on weekdays.
Return to top of page
Directories
- Ann Andrews provides a transcription of the Barrow on Trent entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).
Return to top of page
Gazetteers
- The transcription of the section for Barrow on Trent from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
Return to top of page
Politics and Government
- The townships of Sinfin and Arleston were also ancient Liberties.
- This place was an ancient township and parish in Derbyshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- In December, 1866, most of Twyford and Stenson were split off when they became a separate Civil Parish.
- In April, 1968, this Civil Parish was enlarged by 226 acres when Sinfin and Arleston Civil Parish was abolished. It also gained 79 acres at the same time when Sinfin Moor was abolished as a Civil Parish.
- You may contact the local Barrow upon Trent Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to answer family history questions.