Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Landkey

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Landkey

"LANDKEY (HOLY TRINTY), a parish, in the union of BARNSTAPLE, hundred of SOUTH MOLTON, South Molton and N. divisions of DEVON, 2¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Barnstaple; containing 774 inhabitants This parish, which is situated on the road from Barnstaple to South Molton, comprises by computation 2400 acres: limestone of good quality is abundant, and there are two quarries of considerable extent. The living is a perpetual curacy, with that of Swimbridge annexed; net income, £179; patron and appropriator, Dean of Exeter. The church contains a handsome monument to one of the Acland family. At Herford, in the parish, was anciently a chapel. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans; also a small school supported by charity. [From Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844)]

A parish in South Molton Hundred, under the Peculiar jurisdiction of the Bishop of Exeter.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Index to Transcription of the MIs on the gravestones in the churchyard, by David Ryall.

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Landkey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Landkey Parish church is in fact dedicated to St Paul - see note.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1602 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1602 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for 1816-37 (ZC) in PRO RG 4/1213; 1816-69 (C), 1994 (M), 1848-68 (B) in NDRO; 1816-37 - see also Barnstaple Circuit, Bideford (PRO RG 4/954, 955)

Entered into the IGI: Parish Church Chr (1602-1850) and mar (1602-1837) Wesleyan Chr (1813-1837).

Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838) [Lookups]

Description and Travel

Section on Landkey from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Landkey which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcription, by Jonathan Frayne of the Landkey section of Kelly's Directory of Barnstaple and Neighbourhood (1941).

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Ann O'Toole, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on fiche, indexed.)

Underwood, Barry. The Shapland family.: Barry Underwood, Corona, CA, USA (1965) 93, [10]p: portraits. [ISBN 0961479000]
Underwood, Barry. The ancestry of Christopher Shapland 1838-1928: native of Devonshire, England. Barry Underwood, Corona, CA, USA (1995) 30p. [Barnstaple Library - 929.2/SHA]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Landkey has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Landkey to another place.

History

"The Discovering Landkey Group", Tales of Old Landkey, 1 Bowden's Cottages, Blakeshill road, Landkey, North Devon.
Discovering Landkey: a community catalogue. Beaford: Beaford Arts Centre (1996) [4], 116p: ill, maps. [ISBN 1855225123]

Land and Property

Elliot, John. Devon homes - Acland Barton, Landkey. Devon Life vol. 10 no. 90 (1973) pp.30-31; ill.
Index of heads of Households in Devonshire: Landkey A-L, P.O. Box 339, Blackburn, Victoria, Australia 3130, Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies (2000). [As recorded in Land Tax records 1780-1831]
Index of heads of Households in Devonshire: Landkey M-Z, P.O. Box 339, Blackburn, Victoria, Australia 3130, Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies (2000). [As recorded in Land Tax records 1780-1831]

Probate Records

Wills of John Ackland (1538) and John Ackland (1553) transcribed by Debbie Kennett.

Will of Giles Mallett (1697) transcribed by Mike Mallett.

Will of Ann Joce (1799) transcribed by David Davy.