Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Lustleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Lustleigh

"LUSTLEIGH, or Listleigh, a small scattered village, in a romantic dell, opening to the valley of the West Teign or Bovy river, 3½ miles S.S.E. of Moreton Hampstead, has in its parish 311 souls, and 2239 acres of land, half of which is open commons and waste, on the eastern side of Dartmoor. On the common called Lustleigh Cleve, is a fine range of rocks and crags; and in the vicinity is a logan stone, and some other Druidical remains. The manor was dismembered many years ago, and the soil belongs to J. Gould, Esq., the Rev. S. Nosworthy, and several resident freeholders. Barne-Court was anciently the seat of the Barnehouse family. The Church (St. John,) is an antique fabric, with a tower and four bells. On an ancient tomb lie the effigies of Lord and Lady Dinham, and upon another is the figure of a crusader, supposed to represent Sir Wm. Prowse. The font is Norman and the oak screen is finely carved. The church has been repaired and beautified by the late and present incumbents. The living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £16. 7s. 6d., and in 1831 at £170, in the alternate patronage of the Earl of Ilchester, and the Hon. P.C. Wyndham, and in the incumbency of the Rev. Fredk. Ensor, B.A., who has 35A. 3R. 17P. of glebe, and a large and commodious residence in the Gothic style. The tithes were commuted in 1839 for £290 per annum. The National School was built in 1825, and has £9. 10s. a year from land given by the late Rev. Wm. Davy. " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Teignbridge Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter. According to Peskett, inhabitants of Wreyland in Bovey Tracey were often registered at Lustleigh. Regarded as part of the Dartmoor area.

topup

Biography

Brewer, Dave. Frederick Foot and Dartmoor. Dartmoor Magazine no. 41, (1995) pp.22-23: ill. [Artist 1831-1908]
Brewer, Dave. The Rev. William Davy and Lustleigh School. Dartmoor Magazine no. 46, (1997) pp.10-11: ill. [Clergy, 1743-1826]
Buckman, David. Cecil Torr - a Devon author. Devon Life vol. 6 no. 51 (1970) pp.39.
Cresswell, Beatrix F. Rector and curate for forty years. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 10:8, (1919) pp.302. [Query v.10, p.222. See Baring-Gould, Devonshire characters, p126.] [William, Davy, 1744-1826]
Radford, Ursula. William Davy, priest and printer [d. 1826]. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 63 (1931).
topup

Cemeteries

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St John the Baptist is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 6 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M19).

Brown, Mike. Lustleigh (Full Survey). In Dartmoor Region Monumental Inscriptions Indexes, Vol. 20. Dartmoor Press, PO Box 132, Plymouth PL4 7YL.
Memorials in the church of St. John the Baptist at Lustleigh, in the churchyard and in the extension churchyard, Mill Lane. Photocopy of typescript (1978) [11], 6, [1], 16, [1], 40 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library - x929.5/LUS/MEM]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lustleigh area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Lustleigh - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Harding, W. On the Churches of Lustleigh and Ilsington. (1854) 18p, plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx726.5/DEV/HAR]
Harding, William. The churches of Lustleigh and Ilsington. Exeter Diocesan Architectural Soc. Trans. 1 ser, v. 5, (1856) pp.77-94. [Index]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1631 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1631, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1608, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1785-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1608-1837, and Marriages 1608-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Brown, Mike. 1754-1812 Burial Indexes: Lustleigh. RT58, Dartmoor Press (2000).
Sellman, R.R. Parish registers of Lustleigh to 1837:edited transcript of the parish registers. Typescript (1987) 68p. [Westcountry Studies Libraries - x929.3/LUS/LUS]
Devon and Cornwall Record Society, The Register of Baptisms, Marriages & Burials of the Parish of Lustleigh, Devon, 1631-1837, and extracts from the Bishops' Transcripts, 1608-1811. Transcribed and edited by Herbert Johnson and H. Tapley-Soper., pp. xi. 114. Exeter, 1927-1930.
An index of baptisms (1813-1839), marriages (1754-1837) and burials (1813-1837) in the parishes of Ashburton, Bickington, Bovey Tracey, Buckland in the Moor, Hennock, Highweek, Ideford, Ilsington, Kingsteignton, Lustleigh, Manaton, Moretonhampstead, North Bovey, Teigngrace and Widecombe in the Moor. Photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850., CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2011). [Ashburton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ashburton Independent Chapel Bapt: 1817-1839; Bickington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1771-1837; Bovey Tracey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bovey Tracey Baptist Chapel, Bur: 1784-1837; Buckland in the Moor Bapt: 1813-1851, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1737-1840; Hennock Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Highweek Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Ideford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; llsington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Kingsteignton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lustleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1785-1837; Manaton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1843; Moretonhampstead Bapt: 1813 1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Bovey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Teigngrace Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Widecombe in the Moor Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]
topup

Description and Travel

Conservation Area Appraisal for Lustleigh - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

Section on Lustleigh from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Lustleigh, from Wikipedia

Barber, Chips. Around & About Lustleigh. Pinhoe, Exeter: Obelisk Publications. [ISBN 1899073728].
Bullock-Webster, Sandro. A visit to Lustleigh. Devon Life vol. 8 no. 61 (1971) pp.34-36; ill.
Edwards, C.K.D. Guide to Lustleigh, Parish Council (1959). [Devon FHS Library p929.35/LUS]

You can see pictures of Lustleigh which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript by Mike Steer of the entry (description and names) in William White's History, Gazetteer and Directory of the County of Devon. (1878-79).

Brown, Mike. Trade Directory for Buckland in the Moor, Ilsington, Lustleigh, Manaton, North Bovey, Widecombe 1850, 1870, 1878, Dartmoor Press (2001).
topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lustleigh to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Dartmoor Press Online Magazine's page for this parish (archived copy), with articles, transcriptions, publication details, etc. - highly recommended.

Wills, Mike. The DNA of the Bovey Tracey and Lustleigh Wills family, Devon Family Historian, vol. 134, (2010) pp.29-30.
Peskett, H.M. The whereabouts of Cecil Torr's papers, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 32, 1971-73, pp. 21-22.
Worthy, C. Devonshire Parishes: or the antiquities, heraldry and family history of twenty-eight parishes in the archdeaconry of Totnes (2 vols), Exeter, W. Pollard (1887). [Chap. XX: Lustleigh - Lords of the manor; WADHAM of Edge, including Nicholas WADHAM of Lustleigh (founder of Wadham College, Oxford); Rev. William DAVY] [Index]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Lustleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Crowdy, Joe. The Book of Lustleigh (Halsgrove Community History Series), Halsgrove House, Lower Moor Way, Tiverton, Devon, EX16 6SS, UK, Halsgrove Publishing (2001) 160 pp. [ISBN 1841141070] [Index]
Halle, Dr. Fraser. Letters Historical and Botanical: Relating chiefly to places in the Vale of the Teign. London: Houlston and Stoneman (1851). [Covers Chudleigh, Lustleigh, Canonteign and Bovey Tracey]
Osborne, S. Lustleigh: A study in the development and the changes in function of a Dartmoor fringe village. (n.d.) [Westcountry Studies Library]
Palmer, John E.C. The Davy divinity press at Lustleigh, Devon, Factotum, 4, (1978) pp.21-23.
Scott-Brown, Evelyn. A Devon hamlet half a century ago - Wreyland. Devon Life vol. 3 no. 28, (1967) pp.11.
Torr, Cecil. Miscellaneous Papers, Maps, and Illustrations Relating to Wreyland and Lustleigh. (1910-) 2 vols : il,maps.
Torr, Cecil. Small Talk at Wreyland; with an introduction by Jack Simmons. (1970)
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Lustleigh, Devon. Typescript (1962) 9 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]
Worthy, Charles. Devonshire Parishes. Exeter: William Pollard (1887) - Vol. 2, pp. 183- 194.
topup

Land and Property

Brown, Mike. Lustleigh. In "Dartmoor Tithe Apportionments, Vol. 6". The Dartmoor Press (c1997) 16p.
topup

Manors

Torr, Cecil (ed.). Wreyland documents. Cambridge: University Press (1910) c, 199p, plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - s347.02/LUS/TOR]
Torr, Cecil. Survey of Wreyland, 19 August, 1566. Cambridge: W. Lewis (1927).
topup
topup

Military History

Lustleigh War Memorial - detailed information compiled by Martin Edwards Harris.

Johnson, Herbert. Lustleigh and the war, 1914-1919: a list of those who served. Newton: Hearder & Son (1921) 24p. [Westcountry Studies Library - s940.467/LUS/JOH
topup

Names, Personal

Toor, Cecil. Index to the Names of the Male Inhabitants over 18 Years of Age in the Parishes of Moretonhampstead, Hennock, Lustleigh, South Bovey otherwise Bovey Tracey, North Bovey, Manaton, Ilsington, and Widecombe in the Moor, in the years 1641, 1642. Cambridge University Press, [1913]. pp. 11.
topup

Occupations

Lustleigh Apprentices Register - 1803-1833, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF A280). [Foreword]