Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Newton St Cyres

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Newton St Cyres

"NEWTON ST. CYRES, a pleasant village, on the south side of the vale of the river Creedy, 4½ miles N.W. of Exeter, and 3½ E.S.E. of Crediton. Its parish contains 1234 souls, and 4305 acres of land, rising in bold undulations from the river, and including the tythings of Ford, Norton, and Smallbrook, the hamlet of Winscott, and many scattered houses. . . . John Quicke, Esq., is lord of the manor of Newton, and resides at Newton House, where his family has been seated since the reign of Elizabeth. . . . The Church (St. Cyres,) stands on a fine eminence, and has a tower and five bells. It was built in the 12th or 13th century, and has a large burial ground surrounded by fine lime trees, &c. The interior was recently repewed, in 1831, and has several monuments of the Northcote and Quicke families, one of which has effigies of Jacob Northcote Esq., and his two wives, who died in the 17th century. The vicarage, valued in K.B. at £16. 15s. 5d., and in 1831 at £425, is in the patronage of John Quicke, Esq., and incumbency of the Rev. E.H. Quicke, B.A. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Crediton Hundred, and the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter. According to Peskett, Norton in this parish was under the Peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Long, Mary. A Murder in Newton St Cyres, Devon Family Historian, vol. 107, (2003) pp.26-27. [Sarah Ann Sansom, 1888]
Long, Mary. A Murder in Newton St Cyres in 1888: Annie Sansom, (2004). [DFHS Library p929.2/SAN]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions in the Churchyard is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 6 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M19).

topup

Church History

Newton St Cyres - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

The Church Monuments Society website provides photographs and transcripts of the monuments from a small but growing set of Devon churches, including Newton St Cyres Parish Church.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1554 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1554 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1818-37 - see Exeter Mint (PRO RG 4/1207)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1554-1837, and Marriages 1555-1837.

Sellman, R.R. Edited transcripts of parish registers, 1554-1837, with family reconstitutions and relevant evidence. Typescript (1990) 301p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/NEW/1554]
Deanery Of Cadbury - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 And Burials 1813-1837, CD060, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Brampford Speke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Cadbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Cadeleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1810-1837; Cheriton Fitzpaine Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Colebrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Crediton Presbyterian Chapel Bur: 1826-1837; Crediton Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Down St Mary Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1770-1837; Kennerleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Morchard Bishop Bapt: 1813-1837 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Nether Exe Bapt: 1814-1851 Mar: 1773-1807 Bur: 1813-1856; Newton St. Cyres Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Poughill Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1770-1837; Sandford Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Shobrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh English Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh Pomeroy Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1752-1837 Bur: 1813-1851; Thorverton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1839 Bur: 1813-1837; Upton Hellions Bapt: 1813-1842 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1678-1929; Upton Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1800-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Newton St Cyres  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Newton St Cyres - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

You can see pictures of Newton St Cyres which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Newton St Cyres to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Michael Edgley Dalton's Cuddeford Family Home Page.

Cope, Peter. F. John Helmore & Harriet Skinner: How a Devon family went from the Devon County House of Correction to Australia, Devon Family Hstorian, vol. 126, (2008) pp.8-10.
Cuddeford, B.R.M. The Cuddeford Brothers, Wine Merchants, Devon Family Historian, no. 151, (2014) pp.4-8. [Also of Tedburn St Mary]
Long, Mary. The Cuddefords of Newton St Cyres, (2001). [DFHS Library p929.2/CUD]
Morris, G.T. Windyer. Bidwell family. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 13:1, (1924) pp.6-7.
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Newton St Cyres has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Abraham, A.G. Old Newton St Cyres. Ilfracombe: Arthur H.Stockwell (1972) 44p. [ISBN 072230384x]
Gentry, F.D. Take Care of your Fire and Candle [11 fires in Devon towns]. Devon Books (1985) 138p. [ISBN 0861147596] [Devon FHS Library 929.35]
Keeley, Patrick J. A Devon Family and Their Estates Over Three Centuries: The Northcotes of Hayne, c, 1520-1783, D.Phil. Thesis, Oxford Univ. (1787). [Devon R.O.]
Newton St Cyres by Residents. Brightsea Press (1999) 72pp. [Devon FHS 942.35/NEW]
topup

Manors

Rose-Troup, Frances. Newton St. Cyres and Norton. Trans. Devon Assoc. (1936) p221- 231.
topup
topup

Military History

A Muster Roll of 1569. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 13 (1924-25) pp.188-192
topup

Probate Records

The will of Elizabeth Northcote (1730), transcribed by Ros Dunning.