Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Plympton St Maurice

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Plympton St Maurice

"PLYMPTON MAURICE, or PLYMPTON EARL, is an ancient disfranchised borough, and a small stannary and market town, pleasantly situated in a fertile vale, about 5 miles E. by N. of Plymouth, and 2 miles E. of the river Plym. It has in it parish only about 170A. of land, and 933 inhabitants, including 95 in Plympton House Lunatic Asylum. It has now a market for provisions, every Saturday; a cattle market, on the first Wednesday of every month; and four annual fairs, . . . The town consists of four small streets, with a few respectable houses in the suburbs. . . At the commencement of the civil wars, Plympton was the headquarters of the small force that the royalists then had in the county. . . The Parish Church (St. Maurice,) is . . . a small neat fabric, standing near the castle mound. The benefice is a perpetual curacy, valued in 1831 at £100 per annum. It is in the patronage of the Dean and Canons of Windsor, and incumbency of the Rev. C.K. Williams, D.D. . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A market town and parish in Plympton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Boulton, William B. Sir Joshua Reynolds, F.R.A. London: Methuen and Co (1905) x, 316p: ill.
Cotton, William. Sir Joshua Reynolds and his works: gleanings from his diary, unpublished manuscripts, and from other sources. London: Longman, Brown & Co. (1856) xviii, 276p, plates: ill.
D'Esterre-Keeling, Elsa. Sir Joshua Reynolds, P.R.A. London: Walter Scott Publ Co. (1902) xii, 232p, 21 leaves of pl: port.
Gower, Ronald Sutherland. Sir Joshua Reynolds: his life and art. London: Bell (1902) xvi, 144p, 86 leaves of pl.
Hine, J. Reynolds of Plympton. Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol 19, (1887), illus., pp. 191-216. [Index]
Northcote, James. The life of Sir Joshua Reynolds (Facsimile reprint of 2nd. ed.) London: Commarket Press (1971) 2 vols [in 1]; plates [ISBN 0719120896]
Steegman, John. Sir Joshua Reynolds. London: Duckworth (1933) 136p.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Maurice is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 8 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M23).

Brown, Mike. Guide Notes to Monuments in Devon Churches & Graveyards: Plympton St Mary, Plympton St Maurice. The Dartmoor Press. 16pp. [Strode, Trelawny]
[Monumental Inscriptions (church)], Gent. Mag., vol. II, (1830) pp.302-3.

Census

A street index to the 1861 census for Plympton St Maurice is held at the Plymouth Central Library, North Hill.

Transcript of the 1841 census, by Wayne Shepheard.

Transcripts by Vivian Bonis, checked and provided by Wayne Shepheard of the Plympton St Maurice area census for:

Transcripts of the 1911 Enumeration District 7 census and 1911 Asylum census, by Brian Tidbury and Wayne Shepheard.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Plympton St Maurice area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

Plympton St Maurice - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1613 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1858, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1616-1812 and Marriages 1616-1632, 1655-1812.

Rowe, J. Brooking. Plympton St Maurice parish register. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 3:6, (1905) pp.206. - Register fragment from pre-1610. Notherell, Daniel. Curate 1585. [1585-1614]
Our parish registers: Extracts from Plympton Magazine 1888-1890...details 1616- 1812. (1888-) 80p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/PLY/1616]
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the Deanery of Plympton. with photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2007). [Brixton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Cornwood: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Ermington: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1838), Bur (1813-1837 ), Harford: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1755-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Holbeton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Ivybridge: Bapt (1835-1840), Mar (1835-1840), Bur (1836-1840), Kingston: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837), Modbury: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Newton Ferrers: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837)), North Huish: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Mary: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Maurice: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plymstock: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Revelstoke: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Shaugh Prior: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1835), Ugborough: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1841), Bur (1813-1837), Wembury: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1612-1837), Bur (1813-1840), Yealmpton: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837)]

Description and Travel

Section on Plympton Earl from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Plympton St Maurice which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) for "Plympton-Earl, Plympton St. Mary, and Neighbourhoods"in Pigot and Co's Directory of Devonshire 1830-31.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Transcription by Mike Brown of description given in Kelly's Devon Directory of 1873.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Wayne Shepheard, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on Fiche.)

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Plympton St Maurice has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Plympton St Maurice to another place.

History

Plymouth Data (archived copy) - An encyclopaedia of historical information about the "Three Towns" of Plymouth, Devonport and Stonehouse, and also also the ancient parishes of St Budeaux, Eggbuckland, Tamerton Foliot, Plympton St Maurice, Plympton St Mary and Plymstock, which make up the modern City of Plymouth, compiled by Brian Moseley - highly recommended.

Barlow, F. A Few Twelfth- and Thirteenth-Century Plympton Pieces. In Devon Documents (ed. T. Gray). Tiverton: Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, Special Issue (1996) [ISBN 0925836203] pp.2-6.
Chisham, C.L. Plympton St. Maurice conservation area: brief history of Plympton St. Maurice. Plympton St. Maurice Civic Ass [1971] [11]p: ill, folded map. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/PLY 4/0001/CHI]
Cotton, William. Some account of the ancient borough town of Plympton St. Maurice, or Plympton Earl, with memoirs of the Reynolds family. London: Smith (1859) viii, 129p, 1 leaf of pl. [Westcountry Studies Library - s750.924/REY]
Guthrig, Sylvia C. Dastardly Deeds in Plympton. The Author (2011) 39pp. [Devon FHS p942.35/PLY] [The stories date between 1801 and 1889. Names covered: Battershill, Cork, Cummings, Gaude (Goad), Honey, Hutchings, Jeffery, Mortimore and Watson
Luscombe, Sally and Audrey Mills. Plympton St. Maurice: the past recalled. Plympton St. Mary: Civic Ass. (1985) [32]p: chiefly ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library - pxB/PLY 4/0002/PLY]
Rowe, J. Brooking (comp.). Plympton Earle: a collection of charters and legal instruments. Manuscript [1890] 1 vol. [Westcountry Studies Library - s342.09/PLY/PLY]
Rowe, Joshua Brooking. A history of the borough of Plympton Erle, the castle and manor of Plympton, and of the ecclesiastical parish of Plympton St. Thomas, in the county of Devon. Exeter, J.G. Commin (1906) vii, [4] 419 pp. front. illus. plates, facsims. (1 fold. in color). [Available as CD082 from DFHS]
Rowe, Joshua Brooking. Plympton: the borough and its charters. Trans. Devon Assoc. vol. 19 (1887) pp. 555-648. [Index]
Rowe, J. Brooking. Plympton: Its Parliamentary Representation. Trans. Devon Assoc. vol. 19 (1887) pp.649-674. [Index]

Manors

Bracken, C.W. The Manor of Plympton Grange: A Court Roll and a Rental. Plymouth Institution Trans. 18 (1936/7 - 1942/3) pp.127-134. [Raymond: Includes pedigree of Slanning.]
Bracken, C.W. The Manor of Plympton Grange: A court roll and a rental. Devonshire Association Trans., vol. 70 (1938) pp. 231-251.
Transcript of charters, deeds &c relating to the manor of Plympton ... with the names of free tenants in 1753. Manuscript [1833?] 1 vol. [Westcountry Studies Library - s333.322/PLY/PLY]

Military History

Plympton St Maurice World War 1 (archived page), and World War 2 (archived page) war memorials - name listings

Names, Personal

Names from an 1822-23 edition of Pigot's Directory.

Probate Records

Transcript of the will of Garland Langworthy (1779) provided by Kathleen Noye.