Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Salcombe Regis

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Salcombe Regis

"SALCOMBE-REGIS is a small village, about two miles E.N.E. of Sidmouth, and 16 miles E. by S. of Exeter, picturesquely seated in the Sid valley, sheltered by boldly swelling hills, which terminate in the lofty red sandstone sea cliffs. Its parish is bounded on two sides by the sea and the river Sid, and contains 525 souls, 1909 acres of land, and several neat mansions, with tasteful grounds, commanding extensive views of the coast and the English Channel. It includes the small hamlet of Seed or Sid, and a number of scattered farm houses, &c. . . . The Rev. Geo. Jas. Cornish is now lord of the manor, but a great part of the soil belongs to C.J. Cornish, Esq., J.M. Wolcott, Esq., C.W. Smith, Esq., and several smaller owners. . . . The Church (St. Peter and St. Mary,) is a fine Norman structure, with a tower and three bells, but has undergone many repairs and alterations. There was anciently a chapel in the parish, dedicated to St. Clement and Mary Magdalen. The parish is in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter, who are appropriators of the great tithes, and patrons of the vicarage . . . now enjoyed by the Rev. J.H. Cardew, B.D., of Curry-Mallett, Somersetshire, for whom the Rev. W.B. Doveton, M.A., officiates. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in East Budleigh Hundred, under the Peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter.

Biography

Cornish, James George. Reminiscences of country life. London: Country Life (1939) xi, 147p, plates.
Lockyer, T. Mary and W.L. Lockyer. The life and work of Sir Norman Lockyer. London: Macmillan (1928)

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Salcombe Regis area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Clark, H.B. St. Peter's Church, Salcombe Regis, {Salcombe Regis], [The Church] (1935) [16]p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library p726.5/SAL/CLA]
Newham, John. Salcombe Regis church. Exeter Diocesan Architectural Soc. Trans. 3 ser, v. 2, (1907) pp.20-26; plates.
St. Peter's, Salcombe Regis, [Salcombe Regis], [The Church] (1928) 8 pp. [Westcountry Studies Library p726.5/SAL/St.P]
The parish church of St. Mary and St. Peter, Salcombe Regis, Sidmouth, H.J. Price & Son [1937] [16]p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library p726.5/SAL/PAR]
The church of SS. Mary and Peter, Salcombe Regis, East Devon, Sidmouth, Sidmouth Printing (1972) 20p: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library p726.5/SAL/CHU]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1702 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1690, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1609, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Salcombe Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1802-1844, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1844-1867, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1845-1914.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1609-1929, and Marriages 1609-1630, 1669-1930.

Salcombe Regis parish registers 1600-1700. Manuscript (19--) [Westcountry Studies Library - ms929.3/SAL/1600 ]
The Deanery of Aylesbeare: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Aylesbeare, Bicton, Branscombe, Broadclyst, Clyst Honiton, Clyst St.George, Clyst St.Mary, Colaton Raleigh, East Budleigh, Farringdon, Harpford, Huxham, Littleham, Lympstone, Otterton, Ottery St. Mary, Pinhoe, Poltimore, Rockbeare, Salcombe Regis, Sidbury, Sidmouth, Sowton, Stoke Canon, Topsham, Venn Ottery, Whimple, Withycombe Raleigh and Woodbury. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2012). [Aylesbeare Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bicton Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1755-1835, Bur: 1813-1852, Bur: 1725-1845 (BTs); Branscombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1545-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Broadclyst Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst Honiton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst St. George Bapt: 1813-1837, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1840, Bur: 1813-1837; Colaton Raleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Budleigh Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Budleigh Salem Chapel, Bur: 1832-1837; Farringdon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1852; Glenorchy Independent Exmouth, Bur: 1784-1818; Harpford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1809-1837; Huxham Bapt: 1813-1852, Mar: 1758-1836, Bur: 1813-1864; Littleham (near Exmouth) Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lympstone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Otterton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ottery St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Pinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1844, Bur: 1813-1838; Poltimore Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Rockbeare Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Salcombe Regis Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sidbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1830, Bur: 1813-1837; Sidmouth Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sowton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Stoke Canon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Topsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Venn Ottery Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Whimple Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Withycombe Raleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Woodbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Salcombe Regis  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Salcombe Regis which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Chris Graves, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Baptisms 1702-1973, Burials 1711-1976, Marriages 1702-1836 -; some gaps.)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Salcombe Regis has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Salcombe Regis to another place.

History

Anderson-Morshead, J.Y. A history of Salcombe Regis extracted (with permission from mss history of Sidmouth by P.O.Hutchinson) - 3rd ed. Sidmouth: Culverwell (1910) 25p. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/SAL 7/0001/AND]
Morshead, J.Y.A. Our four parishes: Sidmouth, Sidbury, Salcombe Regis and Branscombe. Trans. Devon Assoc. vol. 35 (1903) pp. 146-155. [Index]
Sutton, Anna. A story of Sidmouth and the villages of Salcombe Regis, Branscombe, Sidbury and Sidford. Chichester: Phillimore (1973) 205p: ill.
Morshead, J.Y.A. A history of Salcombe Regis. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 30, (1898) pp.132-146: ill. [Index]
Wilson, Ronald E. Salcombe Regis sketches. Sid Vale Association (1975) 28p, plates: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/SAL 7/0001/WIL]

Names, Personal

Salcombe Regis contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Probate Records

Anderson-Morshead, J.Y. Wills etc. relating to the parish of Salcombe Regis. Manuscript (19- -) [Westcountry Studies Library - msxB/SAL 7/0001/AND]