Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Silverton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Silverton

"SILVERTON, a large village, pleasantly situated on the eastern acclivity of Exe valley, 7 miles N. by E. of Exeter, and 5½ miles S.W. of Collumpton, was anciently a market town, and has still two cattle fairs, on the first Thursdays in February and July. In 1837 nearly half its houses were destroyed by fire, and some of them have not yet been rebuilt. Its parish contains 1384 inhabitants, and 4714 acres of fertile land, extending eastward to the river Culm, and westward to the Exe; comprising many scattered farm-houses; and divided into four quarters, called Borough, Yalton, Monk-Culm, and North Quarter. . . . About a mile west of the village is SILVERTON PARK, where the late Earl of Egremont, who died in 1845, built a large and elegant mansion, in the florid and ornamental Grecian order of architecture. A great part of the parish belongs to the Rev. J. Scobell, the Rev. Dr. Troyte, Col. Glover, and many smaller freeholders. Combe Sackville was formerly held by the Reigny, Sachville, Browne, and other families; and Monk-Culm, was given by the Earl of Moreton to Montacute Priory. The Church (St. Mary,) is a large Gothic structure, with a tower and six bells. . . . The rectory . . . is in the patronage of the Earl of Ilchester and the trustees of the late Earl of Egremont, and incumbency of the Rev. Charles Tripp, D.D., . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Hayridge Hundred, and the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Maxwell, Herbert Sir. Life and times of the right honourable William Henry Smith, M.P. Edinburgh: William Blackwood (1893) 2 vols: plates.
Selley, Maureen. Who Was to Blame? - The loss of HMS Vanguard in 1875, Devon Family Historian, vol. 147, (2013) pp.27-28. [Robert Thomas Selley was on board]
Skinner, Douglas. Synergy at Tree House, Devon Family Historian, vol. 141, (2012) pp.9-10. [On Skinner family in Colaton Raleigh, and Admiral Richards of Silverton]
Smith, Michael. A Presbyterian survivor: Richard Bryan, Rector of Silverton. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 37:04, (1993) pp.121-8. [1657-1688]
Ward, J. Heald. Councillor John Weare, of Silverton and the siege of Exeter 1645-1646. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 42, (1910) pp.383-390. [Index]

Cemeteries

Ward, Rev. J.H. Silverton churchyard: list of insertions on headstones: name date of death and age. Manuscript [1900] 1 vol. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.5/SIL/SIL]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Silverton area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

Silverton Methodist Church website.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1626 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1626, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1620, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1806-37 - see Cullompton, Exeter Mint, Tiverton (PRO RG 4/958, 1207, 342)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1620-1837, and Marriages 1620-1625, 1653-1837.

Sellman, R.R. (ed.) Edited transcripts of parish registers to 1837, with family reconstitutions and related evidence. Typescript (1990) 228p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/SIL/1620]
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bradninch, Broadhembury, Buckerell, Butterleigh, Clyst Hydon, Clyst St. Lawrence, Cullompton, Feniton, Kentisbeare, Payhembury, Plymtree, Rewe, Silverton and Talaton. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire 1902. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Bradninch Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Broadhembury Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Buckerell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1841; Butterleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst Hydon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1790-1837; Clyst St. Lawrence Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1814-1851; Cullompton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Feniton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1790-1837; Kentisbeare Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1837; Payhembury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1800-1837; Plymtree Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1541-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Rewe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1780-1837; Silverton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Talaton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1800-1837].

Description and Travel

Section on Silverton  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Silverton - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

You can see pictures of Silverton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Graham Parnell, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Book of Silverton author.)

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Curtis, Margaret. Aldridge Family Tree Get Together, Devon Family Historian, vol. 133, (2010) p.18. [Descendants of James Aldridge (b. 1838, Silverton).]
Skinner, Douglas. An Ilustrated History of the Skinner Family, Vol 4a. [DFHS Library 929.2/SKI] [Private Allan Skinner, 29/8/1897]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Silverton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Silverton to another place.

History

Parnell, Graham. The Book of Silverton; Portrait of an Exe Valley Parish, Halsgrove Press, Halsgrove House, Lower Moor Way, Tiverton, Devon (2000). [Index]
West, W.R.. Nonconformity in a Village. The story of Methodism in the village of Silverton, Devon, etc. Trustees of Silverton Methodist Chapel: [Silverton,] 1964, pp. 31.
Memories of Silverton. Photocopy of typescript [1970?] 25p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sxB/SIL/0001/MEM]
Silverton Local History Society. The Book of Silverton - Portrait of an Exe Valley Parish, Tiverton, Halsgrove Community History Series (2000) 160 pp., over 250 photographs. [ISBN: 1-84114-066-X]

Military History

FODA's "Devon World War One: Roll of Honour" has obituaries of the 35 casualties from Silverton

Names, Personal

Silverton contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Cullompton Register of Bastardy Applications 1850-1859, Exeter, Devon FHS (2004). [Includes parishes of Burlescombe, Churchstanton, Cullompton, Halberton, Kentisbeare, Silverton, Thorverton and Uffculme.] [Foreword] [Names included in the overall index published as "Rich man, poor man, beggar man, thief" (CD 023).

Probate Records

Summary of the will of William Wrayford (1700) provided by John Moore.

Schools

Butler, P.T.A. A history of education in Silverton before 1870, with particular reference to...Sir Thomas Dyke Acland, 1787-1871. Typescript (1976) [2], 31 leaves, 4 of pls. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx370/SIL/BUT]
Silverton School Register - 1874-1901, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D087). [Foreword]

Societies

Members of the Silverton Local History Society are always willing to help anyone researching Silverton ancestors - contact Graham Parnell.