"TAVISTOCK is an ancient parliamentary borough and handsome market and stannary town, delightfully seated in the picturesque valley of the small river Tavy, . . . 33 miles S.W. by W. of Exeter; 15 miles N. of Plymouth . . . Its PARISH is all within the borough, except the manor of Cudlipptown, and extends over about 4000A. of open moorland on the confines of Dartmoor, and includes 10,573A. of cultivated land, . . . The Duke of Bedford . . . owns most of the parish, and is lord of the manors of Tavistock, Hurdwick, Morwell, Ogbear, Parswell, and Ottery . . . but the manor of Cudlipptown belongs to the Rev. E.A. Bray, . . . The town has now a clean and handsome appearance, and contains several good inns, and many well-stocked shops. . The manufacture of coarse woollens flourished here from an early period, but declined at the end of the last century, and is now nearly obsolete. Mining operations have been carried on in the neighbourhood from time immemorial . . . In the town are two large ironfoundries and engine works. . . . The Church (St. Eustachius) is a large and handsome structure . . . now in the incumbency of the Rev. E.A. Bray, . . . There are now in the town four CHAPELS belonging to the Unitarians, Independents, Wesleyans, and the Society of Friends. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in Tavistock Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter. St Paul, Gulworthy is a modern parish (1858).