Accrington

Select map to view larger area
ACCRINGTON, a town, two townships, two chapelries, and a subdistrict, in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The town adjoins the E Lancashire railway, near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 4 miles by road and 5¼ by railway E of Blackburn. It is large and thriving; has sprung up within the present century; is a seat of petty sessions and county courts; publishes a weekly newspaper; carries on industry in twenty cotton factories, three print works, extensive turkey-red dye-work, several large chemical works, foundries, steel-works, and a brewery; is well supplied with water from reservoirs; and has a head post office, a r. station with telegraph, a banking office, four hotels, a market house of 1868, public rooms of 1857 in the Italian style at a cost of 8,000, a mechanics' institution, a museum and pleasure gardens, a church enlarged in 1826, a church of 1841 in the early English style at a cost of 8,000, a church of 1866, two fine Wesleyan chapels of 1845 and 1866, nine other dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, seven public schools, and two annual fairs. Pop. in 1851, 7,481; in 1861, 13,872. Houses, 2,579. The townships are New A. and Old A. Acres, 2,480 and 740. Real property, 52,634; of which 8,409 are in mines. Pop., 11,853 and 5,835.The chapelries are St. James and Christchurch; and both are p. curacies in the diocese of Manchester. Value of each, 300.* Patrons of St. J., Hulme's Trustees; of C., Trustees. The subdistrict is conterminate with the two townships.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local Studies Unit,
Central Library,
St. James St,
Accrington Lancs.
BB5 1NQ

Tel: 01254 872385
Fax: 01254 301066

Cemeteries

Monumental inscriptions and the burial register of the Machpelah Baptist church have been published by the LFH&HS.

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Accrington.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Accrington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map. The surviving records for the parish church of St James commence in 1766. An index of marriages 1813-1837 has been published by the LFH&HS.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Accrington area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Accrington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Accrington to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Accrington was a chapelry and township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Accrington and places within its boundaries.

A map of Accrington East and West around 1890.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD759285 (Lat/Lon: 53.752301, -2.366975), Accrington which are provided by:

Military History

Men and women of Accrington and District who gave their lives for their country during the Great War of 1914-1919.

Military Records

Andrew Jackson provides information about the Accrington Pals and the losses that they suffered at the battle of the Somme.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Accrington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

Voting Registers

1918 Absent Voters List.