Astley

Select map to view larger area
ASTLEY, orEast Leigh, a township-chapelry in Leigh parish, Lancashire; near the Bridgewater canal and the Manchester and Liverpool railway, 8½ miles W of Manchester. It has a station on the railway, and a post office under Manchester. Acres, 2,628. Real property, 11,967,-of which 5,000 are in mines. Pop., 2,109. Houses, 437. There are collieries and a large cotton mill. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 250.* Patron, the Vicar of Leigh. The church is modern, and has been thrice enlarged There are a Wesleyan chapel, a free grammar school, a national school, and some small charities.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Wigan library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Astley.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Astley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Astley area is Wigan & Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Astley which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Astley to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Astley was a township in the parish of Leigh.

Maps

View maps of Astley and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD706009 (Lat/Lon: 53.503956, -2.444735), Astley which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Astley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.