Atherton
|
|
|
|
ATHERTON, a town, a township, a chapelry, and a subdistrict, in the parish and district of Leigh, Lancashire. The town stands about a mile E of the Bolton and Kenyon railway, 2 miles NNE of Leigh, and 13 WNW of Manchester. It bears also the name of Chowbent; and it has a station of the name of Atherton on the railway, and a post office of the name of Chowbent under Manchester. The inhabitants are employed variously in cotton factories, iron works, nail factories, and collieries. Pop., 2,692. Houses, 683. The township includes also part of the town of Leigh, and is partly rural. Acres, 2,323. Real property, £23,638; of which £8,920 are in mines. Pop., 5,907. Houses, 1,222. Atherton Hall stands near the site of a quondam seat of the Athertons; and is the property of Lord Lilford. The chapelry is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £100. Patron, Lord Lilford. The church was rebuilt in 1810. There are Baptist and Unitarian chapels, and a national school. The subdistrict includes Tyldesley-cum-Shakerley. Pop., 11,936.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Atherton.Church History
Church Records
- Dan Lane (now Tyldesley Rd), Baptist
- St George, Tavistock Street, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Market St, Church of England
- St Phillip, Crosby St, Church of England
- St Anne, Tyldesley Rd, Church of England, Hindsford
- St Michael and All Angels, Leigh Rd, Church of England, Howe Bridge
- Alma St, Evangelical
- St James, Free Church of England
- Mealhouse Lane, Independent Methodist
- Central Methodist, High St, Methodist
- Alma St, Primitive Methodist
- St Richard of Chichester, Mayfield St, Roman Catholic
- Sacred Heart, Tyldesley Rd, Roman Catholic, Hindsford
- Bolton Old Rd, Unitarian, Chowbent
- Seacome Hall Chapel, Flapper Fold Lane, Unknown
- Bag Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Laburnam St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Atherton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Atherton area is Wigan & Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Atherton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Atherton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Atherton was a township in the parish of Leigh.History
Dave Dutton has an interesting history of Atherton.Maps
View maps of Atherton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD673031 (Lat/Lon: 53.523535, -2.494717), Atherton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Atherton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

