Moston

Select map to view larger area
Moston, township and ry. sta., Manchester par., SE. Lancashire - township, 1297 ac., pop. 3466; the sta. is 4½ miles NE. of Victoria sta., Manchester.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester Local Studies library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Moston.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Moston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Moston area is Manchester.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Moston which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Moston to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Moston was a township in the parish of Manchester.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Moston in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Moston and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD872018 (Lat/Lon: 53.512715, -2.194498), Moston which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Moston was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.