Pendleton
|
|
|
|
PENDLETON, a suburban town, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Salford district, Lancashire. The town is suburban to Manchester; lies on the Manchester and Bolton railway, near Peel Park, contiguous to the W side of Salford, 2 miles W N W of Manchester: contains very many genteel residences; carries on industry in cotton and flax mills, and in dye and print-works; and has a railway station with telegraph, a post-office, under Manchester, a town hall, and numerous places of worship, and public schools. The town hall was built in 1866, at a cost of about £9,000; is in the Italian style, with assimilation to French; and contains an assembly-room, 85 feet long, 39½ feet wide, and 30 feet high. The churches are St. Thomas', rebuilt in 1831, and Sts. Paul, George, James, Anne, and Luke, built in 1856-65 at costs of £5,000, £5,000, £8,500, £1,500, and £6,500. A New Connexion Methodist chapel was built in 1863, at a cost of £2,500; and has a Corinthian portico. Independent school-rooms were erected in 1865, at a cost of £2,400; are in the geometric pointed style; and includea central hall, 60 feet long and 40 feet wide. Very handsome Wesleyan schools were erected in 1863, at a cost of £3500. The township comprises 1,720 acres; and is in the parish of Eccles, and the borough of Salford. Real property, £85,080; of which £2,186 are in mines, and £1,024 in ironworks. Pop. in 1851, 14,244; in 1861, 20,900. Houses, 3,906. Coal exists in seams of 7 feet thick and under, and is largely worked. The chapelry includes but a portion of the township, and was constituted in 1860. Pop. in 1861, 5,361. Houses, 984. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £344. Patron, the Vicar of Eccles. The sub-district comprises the townships of Pendleton and Pendlebury. Acres, 2,650. Pop., 24,448. Houses, 4,578.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Salford library.Cemeteries
- Cemetery Rd, Cemetery, Weaste
- St Anne, Brindle Heath Rd, Church of England, Brindle Heath
- St Thomas, Broad Street, Church of England
- Brindle Heath Rd, Jewish Burial Ground, Brindle Heath
- Brunswick Chapel, Broad Street, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pendleton.Church History
Church Records
- Nursery St, Baptist
- Windsor, Churchill Way, Christian Centre
- Mount Chapel, Langworthy Rd, Christian Fellowship
- St Anne, Brindle Heath Rd, Church of England, Brindle Heath
- St George, Douglas Green, Church of England, Charlestown
- St George, Whit Lane, Church of England, Charlestown
- The Holy Angels, Moorfield Road, Church of England, Claremont
- St Ambrose, Liverpool St, Church of England
- St Barnabas, Frederick Road, Church of England
- St Paul, Ellor Street, Church of England
- St Thomas, Broad Street, Church of England
- All Saints, Eccles New Road, Church of England, Weaste
- St Luke, Derby Road, Church of England, Weaste
- Broughton Rd, Congregational, Charlestown
- Claremont Rd, Congregational, Irlams o' th' Height
- Broad Street, Congregational
- Seedley, Liverpool St, Congregational
- Chapel Street, Independent
- Brindle Heath Rd, Jewish Burial Ground, Brindle Heath
- Height Methodist Church, King Street, Methodist, Irlams o' th' Height
- Heathfield, Lancaster Rd, Methodist
- Cromwell Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Bethesda, Broad Street, Methodist New Connexion
- Good News Assembly, Douglas Green, Pentecostal, Charlestown
- Elim Church, Moorfield Road, Pentecostal, Claremont
- Fitzwarren St, Presbyterian
- Seedley Grove, Presbyterian
- Enys Street, Primitive Methodist
- John Street, Primitive Methodist
- Brunswick, Broad Street, Primitive Methodist
- St Luke, Swinton Park Road, Roman Catholic, Irlams o' th' Height
- Mother of God and St James, Pendleton Way, Roman Catholic
- St Peter and St Paul, Park Road, Roman Catholic
- St Sebastian, Gerald Road, Roman Catholic
- All Souls and St John Vianney, Weaste Lane, Roman Catholic, Weaste
- Cross Lane, Seventh Day Adventist
- Langworthy Rd formerly Hardman St, Society of Friends
- Cross Lane, Unitarian Free Church
- Bolton Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Irlams o' th' Height
- Cromwell Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Hankinson St, United Methodist Free Church
- Liverpool St, United Methodist Free Church
- Pendleton St, United Methodist Free Church
- Broad Street, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- St David, Langworthy Rd formerly Hardman St, Welsh Wesleyan Methodist
- Westwood, Manchester Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Irlams o' th' Height
- Whit Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Brunswick Chapel, Broad Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Seedley, Ellor Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- St John, Langworthy Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Weaste
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pendleton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Pendleton area is Salford.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Pendleton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pendleton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Pendleton was a township in the parish of Eccles.History
A description of Pendleton in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Pendleton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ811991 (Lat/Lon: 53.488261, -2.286322), Pendleton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pendleton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

