Ulnes Walton

Select map to view larger area
ULNES-WALTON, a township in Croston parish, Lancashire; 5½ miles W by N of Chorley. Acres, 2,087. Real property, £3,774. Pop., 488. Houses, 91. Traces of a monastic house are at Gradwells. Fruit is extensively grown for the market.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ulnes Walton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ulnes Walton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ulnes Walton area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

David Batty has some pictures of Ulnes Walton.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ulnes Walton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ulnes Walton was a township in the parish of Croston.

Maps

View maps of Ulnes Walton and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ulnes Walton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.