Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Marston

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Marston

Cemeteries

  • St Mary, School Lane, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 620
1861 R.G. 9 / 2482
1891 R.G. 12 / 2716

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Marston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary.
  • The church contains several monuments to the THOROLD family.
  • The church underwent restoration in 1878-80.
  • The church seats 180.
  • A photograph of St. Mary's is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • David DIXON has a photograph of St. Mary's Church on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Mary's Church

Church Records

  • The parish registers exist from 1562. Many early parish registry entries are for Hougham parish.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1707 to 1813 and Marriages from 1707 to 1808.
  • We have a partial parish register extract. Your additions to this are welcome.
  • Boyd's Marriage Index holds parish marriages from 1562 to 1837.
  • Parish registers are on file at the Society of Genealogists, covering 1562 - 1812.
  • The parish registers for Marston have been transcribed by FreeREG for 1813 to 1837 [Trev Symonds, AU, 2009].
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a small chapel here prior to 1875, replaced with a larger one in 1876. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Marston is both a town and a parish 5 miles north-north-west of Grantham and 113 miles north of London. Foston parish lies to the west across the Foston Beck (stream), Syston parish to the east. The parish covers about 2,450 acres.

The River Witham runs past the northern side of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • The A1 trunk road passes about a mile south of the village.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Marston which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Marston has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Marston to another place.

History

  • Sir Nathaniel THOROLD, knight, was sheriff of Lincolnshire in 1570. He died in 1594 and has a memorial in the Marston church.
  • The Grantham sewage farm was established here prior to 1910.
  • A Celtic Iron-age coin was found in Marston in 2003.
  • Check the history of the Wapentake at the Loveden Wapentake website.
  • J. THOMAS provides a photograph of the Thorold Arms on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2012.

Land and Property

  • In 1871, nearly all the land in the parish was owned by the Lord of the Manor, Sir John Henry THOROLD, baronet.
  • Sir John Henry THOROLD, baronet, was still the principal landowner in 1913.

Manors

  • Marston Hall is the ancient seat of the THOROLD family, but was a farmhouse by 1891.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK890430 (Lat/Lon: 52.976948, -0.675968), Marston which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Marston is from the Old English mersc+tun, for "farmstead by a marsh".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

  • Here's a list of surnames found in White's 1871 Directory: ADAMS, ARMSTRONG, ATTER, BROWN, BUTLER, FARMER, GOULSON, HARMSTON, HUTCHINSON, JARDINE, JOHNSON, KENNY, LANE, MASON, RICHARDSON, ROBINSON, ROWLAND, TREADGOLD and WORTH.
  • Kelley's 1913 Directory lists these surnames: ABRAHAM, BLACKBURN, BROWN, CHEETHAM, DELLER, DENTON, HANDCOCK, HARRIS, HEADLAND, HODSON, HUTCHINSON, MASON, PACEY, PEARSON, RAWDING, ROBINSON, and SCRIMSHIRE.

Politics and Government

  • This place started out as an ancient Chapelry in Hougham parish in Lincolnshire.
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • The local parish governance is handled by the Marston Parish Council. Note: They are NOT staffed to answer family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
  • In 1670, Sir William and Lady Ann THOROLD established a charity to provided funds for the poor, who received £20 yearly to five old men and five old women, with additional funds going to coal, clothing and directly to other poor people.
  • An unknown donor provided an annual benefit of £16 5s 11d.
  • In 1716, Dame Margaret THOROLD established a charity to fund the education of poor children of this and other nearby parishes.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 326
1831 419
1841 434
1871 356
1881 307
1891 302
1901 244
1911 265

Schools

  • Dame Margaret THOROLD's charity help fund the building of a school in 1861. It was enlarged in 1874 to hold 192 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.