Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Scartho

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Scartho

Cemeteries

  • St Giles, St Giles Avenue, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • In 1890, the parish was allocated to the Grimsby sub-district of the new Grimsby Registration District.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1841, 1851, 1881 and 1891.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 643
1861 R.G. 9 / 2390
1871 R.G. 10 / 3415
1891 R.G. 12 / 2619

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scartho area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Giles.
  • Parts of the church are of Saxon origin.
  • The church seats 103 people.
  • A church hall was built in 1928 to seat 500 people.
  • There is a photograph of St. Giles Church on the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photo web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Giles Church on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2005.
  • Here is a photo of Saint Giles Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Saint Giles Church

Church Records

  • Parish registers date from 1562 (1560 in some sources).
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Grimsby and Cleethorpes Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Parish registers are on file at the Society of Genealogists covering 1562 - 1837.
  • Copies of the parish registers are held at the Lincolnshire Archives for 1565 - 1953.
  • Parish marriages are indexed in Pallot's Marriage Index for 1790 - 1837.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1868 and the Primitive Methodists built one in 1867. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Alexander P. KAPP has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2008.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • In 1890, the parish was allocated to the Grimsby sub-district of the new Grimsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Scartho is both a village and parish just south of Grimsby. Bradley parish borders on the west, Clee parish is to the east and Waltham parish is to the south. The area of the parish is about 1,300 acres.

The A16 trunk road passing south from Grimsby runs through the the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • There is a Family History Centre on Lynwood Avenue, Scartho, to help with your research. Tel: 01472 828 876.
  • For relaxation, there is a lawn bowling club - the Scartho Bowling Club on Waltham Road. Tel: 01472 879 457.
  • Visit our touring page for resources.
You can see pictures of Scartho which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Scartho has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Scartho to another place.

History

  • The Grimsby Waterworks Company built a reservoir here in 1863.

Manors

  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of Scartho Hall on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2006.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TA267064 (Lat/Lon: 53.538960, -0.089562), Scartho which are provided by:

Medical Records

  • The Grimsby Corporation Isolation Hospital for Infectious Diseases was built in this parish. It was expanded in 1925 and again in 1930 to handle up to 84 patients. Dr. Bertram C. STEVENS was the medical officer and Miss M. ENO the matron in 1930.
  • Hospitals were not required to archive patient records, but the N E Lincoln Archives do have old photographs of the buildings, accounting records and historical memorabilia.

Military History

  • In 1916 a Zeppelin dropped 13 bombs on Scartho, but there were no deaths or injuries. St. Giles Church was badly damaged in the attack.
  • Alexander P. KAPP has a photograph of the bombing memorial on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2008.
  • There is a plaque on the north wall of the church which was put up in 1920 in memory of the 8 men of the parish who fell in World War I.
  • At the Commonwealth War Graves site you can read about the Grimsby Cemetery.
  • There are 7 Commonwealth War Graves at St. Giles Churchyard as reported at the Traces of War site.
  • In 1930 the Rev. Henry Ernest RUDDY was chaplain to the RAF.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Scartho is from the Old Scandinavian Skarth+haugr, or "mound near a gap". It appeared as Scarhou in the 1086 Domesday Book.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish of Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was part of the ancient Bradley Haverstoe Wapentake in the parts of Lindsey.
  • This place was abolished as a Civil Parish on 1st April, 1928, and 985 acres were used to create Grimsby Civil Parish.
  • On that same date, 267 acres were ceeded to Waltham Civil Parish.
  • District governance is provided by the North-East Lincolnshire Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Grimsby petty session hearings.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed in 1798.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act,, the parish became part of the Caistor Poor Law Union in 1837.
  • In an April, 1897, re-organisation, the parish was transfered to the newly established Grimsby Poor Law Union.

Population

In the 20th century, the population of this parish surged.

Year  Inhabitants
1801 135
1831 147
1841 199
1871 210
1881 224
1891 190
1901 219
1911 474
1921 744

Schools

  • The children of the parish went to the Humberstone Free School in the 1800's.
  • The existing Scartho Junior School is on Edge Avenue.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.