Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Stallingborough

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.




  • The parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • In an 1890 re-organisation, the Grimsby sub-district became its own Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2391
1871 R.G. 10 / 3417
1891 R.G. 12 / 2620


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stallingborough area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The present Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter and Saint Paul.
  • The church was built in 1780 at the west end of the village. It replaced an earlier structure.
  • The church seats 200.
  • There is a photograph of Saints Peter and Paul church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Paul GLAZZARD has a photograph of St Peter & St Paul Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2008.
  • Here is a photo of Saints Peter and Paul Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Saints Peter and Paul Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1588 (another source gives 1562).
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Haverstoe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
  • The Primitive Methodists built a chapel here in 1871.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had chapel here by 1872. For more information on researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • In an 1890 re-organisation, the Grimsby sub-district became its own Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Stallingborough is a village and a parish on the south bank of the Humber River just above Grimsby and 159 miles north of London. Immingham parish lies to the north and Healing parish to the south. The parish covers just over 4,500 acres and includes the hamlet of Little London.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Stallingborough which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stallingborough has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The parish was prime grazing land for many centuries.
  • In 1900, Stallingborough had a lighthouse and a Coast Guard station on the shore.


  • The AYSCOUGH family were long seated here, but by 1840 only the ruin of the west wing of their mansion still remained. The name is also spelled as AYSCUGH, AYSCOUGE and ASKEW.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TA200110 (Lat/Lon: 53.581858, -0.188844), Stallingborough which are provided by:

Military History

  • David WRIGHT has a photograph of a Commonwealth War Grave from World War I on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2005.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the east division of the ancient Yarborough Wapentake in the Central Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish, perhaps erroneously, in the North Lindsey district.
  • You can contact the Stallingborough Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT funded to assist you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, visit the North East Lincolnshire District Council site.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Caistor Poor Law Union.
  • In 1890, the parish was transfered to the newly established Grimsby Poor Law Union, which built a new Workhouse on 9th October 1894.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Grimsby petty session hearings.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 274
1831 366
1851 516
1871 461
1881 483
1891 449
1911 469


  • A Church of England School was built here in 1847 and enlarged in 1887.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.