Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"A borough, market town, and parish, having exclusive jurisdiction, in the Union of St. Asaph, locally in the hundred of Isaled, county of Denbigh (of which it is the ancient shire town); 218 miles (NW) from London, on the road from Ruthin to St. Asaph, containing 3786 inhabitants. ..... The town is picturesquely situated in the centre of the rich and beautiful Vale of Clwyd, partly at the base, and partly at the aclivity, of a steep, isolated, rocky eminence, the summit of which is crowned by the venerable remains of the castle. ..... The environs abound with beautiful and richly varied scenery; the air is remarkably salubrious; the land in the vicinity is rich and in a high state of cultivation; and in the immediate neighbourhood are numerous splendid seats and elegant villas, inhabitated by opulent families, whom the advantages of its situation have induced to select Denbigh for their residence. "
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
- A guide to Denbigh .. Cheltenham : Edward J. Burrow, [1908?]
- Burgess, John. Denbigh and Flint Carlisle 2000
- Butler, L A S. Denbigh Castle, town walls and friary London : H.M.S.O., 1976.
- Davies, Edward. A visit to the town of Denbigh Denbighshire Historical Society 48 1999
- Davies, Margaret. The Womens Voluntary Service in Denbigh Denbigh and its past 12 1997
- Davies, Meirion Lloyd. The 1945 General Election in Denbigh Denbigh and its past 15 2000
- Denbigh then and now : researched and compiled by Brockhouse Women's Institute. Mold : Clwyd Voluntary Services Council, 
- Eisteddfodau Dinbych 2001
- Ellis, Bryn. Denbigh in the Quarter Session Rolls in the C18th Denbigh and its past 15 2000
- Glynn, Peter. Graves in Denbigh associated with the Great War Hel achau, No. 53 (Aug. 1997), p. 23-26
- Hughes, John Gwyn. A commentary on Denbigh and its past Denbigh and its past. No. 15 (2000), p. 43-60
- Hughes, Raymond. Llwyn Isaf Waterworks, Denbigh Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 49 (2000), p. 151-157.
- Jones, Humphrey Adams. The Congregational Church, The Denbigh Green Denbigh and its past. No. 16 (2001), p. 34-42.
- Jones, Frank Price. Crwydro Gorllewin Dinbych Llandybie 1969
- Michael, Pam. Quarrymen and insanity in north Wales from the Denbigh Asylum records Industrial Gwynedd 2 (1997), p. 34-43.
- Owen, R M. Denbigh Loggerheads : S.B. Publications, 1990 - and vol 2 in 1994
- Owen, R M. New Post Office at Denbigh Denbigh and its past. 12 (1997), p. 20-1.
- Owen, R M. Poaching in Denbigh Denbigh and its past No. 14 (1999), p. [20-25]
- Pritchard, John Wyn. 'Fit and proper persons'. Councillors of Denbigh, their status and position, 1835-94 (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 17
- Programme of the Grand National Eisteddfod, to be held in the ancient Castle of Denbigh 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th days of August, 1860 : Denbigh : Printed at the "Cymro" office and "Eglwysydd" by W. Morris,
- Rear, Bill. The Denbigh and Mold line Stockport : Foxline, 1992.
- The old church of St David, Denbigh 1895?
- Thomas, J Gwyn. Details of the history of the Earls of Denbigh Denbigh and its past. 12 (1997), p. 16-20
- Vinogradoff, Paul and Frank Morgan (eds). Survey of the Honour of Denbigh, 1334 London : Published for the British Academy by Humphrey Milford, Oxford University Press, 1914.
- Williams, E P. The lighter side of Denbigh's history Denbigh and its History. No. 14 (1999), p. [16-20]
- Williams, John. The Records of Denbigh and its Lordship Wrexham 1860
- Williams, John The town of Denbigh and Denbigh Castle Denbigh 1860
- Williams, John. Ancient and modern Denbigh 1856 [Mold] : Clwyd County Council Library & Information Service, 1989.
- Williams, John. The castle and borough of Denbigh Denbigh : Thomas Gee, 1881.
- Williams, T. Marchant (ed). The Denbigh National Eisteddfod London : J. Martin & Son, 1883.
- Henllan Place Welsh Baptist Chapel, Henllan Street, Other
- Welsh Baptist Church, Henllan Street, Other
- St Hilary's Chapel, Church in Wales
- St Marcella, Whitchurch Road, Church in Wales
- St Mary the Virgin, Henllan Street, Church in Wales
- Capel Mawr Methodist Chapel, Chapel St. And Beacons Hill, Calvinistic Methodist (Welsh)
- Y Fron Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Albert Road, Calvinistic Methodist (Welsh)
- Pendref Welsh Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chapel Place, Other
- Salem Welsh Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Ruthin Road, Other
- Lon Swan Welsh Independent Chapel, Swan Lane, Independent
- Tower Hill Welsh Independent Chapel, Independent
- Abbey Cottage, Refectory & Dorter Block Of Carmelite Fri, Other
- Bodawen Free Gospellers' Church, Beacons Hill?, Other
- Carmelite Friary (White Friars), Other
- Chapel At North Wales Counties Mental Hospital, Other
- Chapel Of Rest, Ruthin Road, Other
- Church Hall, Bridge Street, Other
- Church Hall, Peakes Lane, Other
- Mission Church; St Andrew's, Henllan Street, Other
- Plymouth Brethren (English Meeting House), Post Office Lane, Other
- St Anne (Chapel Remains), Bridge Street, , Other
- St David (St-Davids-In-The-Park), St David's Lane, Other
- St David's Or Leicester's, Other
- St Thomas (English Presbyterian Church), Vale Street, Other
- St Joseph, Bron Castell, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph, Tan-Y-Gwaliau, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for
churches in the Denbigh area
that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help
identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the
of the churches marked on a map.
For details of these churches see Churches in Denbigh
- St. Marcella
- St. Hilary
- St. Mary
- St. David
Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civiladministrative district of Denbigh Borough :
|Name of Chapel
||Number of "adherents"
|Seion, Henllan Street
||Calvinistic Methodists (English language)
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
|All four Churches
||1683 - 1983
||1686 - 1876
||1683 - 1984
||1876 - 1981
||1897 - 1980
||1928 - 1970
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
|1683 - 1812
||1683 - 1812
||1683 - 1812
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
|Deposited at the National Library of Wales
|1671 - 1842
||1671 - 1842
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
|1815 - 1842
||1815 - 1837
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Denbigh was assigned to the No. 3 ("Denbigh") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Denbigh are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII. nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b. nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
You can see pictures of Denbigh which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Denbigh has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
On Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ050661 (Lat/Lon: 53.183473, -3.423105), Denbigh which are provided by:
- In 1831- the population was 3786.
- In 1901- the population was 5301.
[ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 1772 acres.
[ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]