Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Erbistock

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Erbistock

"A parish in the Union of Wrexham, partly in the hundred of Bromfield, county of Denbigh, and partly in that of Maelor, county of Flint; five miles (NNW) from Ellesmere. This parish, which by tradition is said to have been originally an appendage to the ancient monastery of Bangor, is situated on the river Dee, which is navigable about four miles below it, and which is enclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The soil in general is fertile: the surrounding scenery is pleasingly diversified, and in some places highly picturesque; and the river Dee, which for a considerable distance forms the boundary of the parish, pursues a winding course through the adjoining tract, and adds greatly to the beauty of the scenery." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

topup

Bibliography

  • Roberts, Miriam.    The Prices of Erbistock     Hel achau, No. 97 (June 2008), p. 24-26

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Erbistock area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 355413.
The church was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254, and at that time was dedicated to St. Erbin. A new church was built about 1748. The present building, which is dedicated to St. Hilary, was constructed in 1860.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church of St Hilary - on the Wrexham Churches Survey site

Erbistock - St Hilary's Church (Internal/external)  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Erbistock :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Not named Congregationalists (English language) 56
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1680 - 1918 1679 - 1970 1679 - 1991
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1679 - 1812 1679 - 1812 1679 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1663 - 1835 1671 - 1835

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Hilary's, Erbistock.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Erbistock was assigned to the No. 3 ("Ruabon") sub-district of the Wrexham Registration District; which, initially, was co-extensive with the Wrexham poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Erbistock are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Wrexham 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Erbistock -  on wikipedia

Various landscapes  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Erbistock Mill   - on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Erbistock which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Erbistock to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Erbistock has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 398.
  • In 1901- the population was 307.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 1571 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]