Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog

"A parish in the Union of Corwen; Cynlleth and Mochnant division of the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh; 10 miles (WNW) from Oswestry, containing 307 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the river Ceiriog, is supposed to be the burial place of St. Germanus, the celebrated Bishop of Auxerre." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish comprises the townships of Tre'rllan, Llowarch and Lloran.

topup

Bibliography

  • Jones, Emma  a Rheinallt Hughes.    Hanes Ysgol Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog         Glyn Ceiriog : Ysgol Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, 2002.
  • Jones, Jane A. Lewis .   The history of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog and Tregeiriog          [Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog] : Jane A. Lewis Jones, 2000.
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 158328.

"The church, dedicated to St. Germanus, is an ancient and spacious building, but entirely destitute of architectural character, and in a very dilapidated condition. About forty yards to the west of it, and within the cemetery, is a large oblong tumulus, which is said to be the sepulchre of St. Germanus."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

The church was rebuilt in 1846.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church, Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Llywarch Calvinistic Methodists 72
Salem Calvinistic Methodists 91
Tabernacle Wesleyans 71
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1625 - 1991 1624 - 1970 1750 - 1927
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1625 - 1815 1624 - 1813 1624 - 1813

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1668 - 1835 1668 - 1835

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Baptisms Marriages
1758 - 1835 None
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog was assigned to the No. 2 ("Corwen") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog - on wikipedia

A view of the village from a distant elevated vantage point  - on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

J. Ceiriog Hughes (1832-87) was born in Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Denbighshire - 1867 photograph - on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 307.
  • In 1901- the population was 243.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 9305 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]