GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

CASTELL CAEREINION / CASTLE CAEREINION

Bibliography

Bowen, E G      A map of the Trehelig Common Fields         Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 41  1930   Welsh Journals Online  

Brown, Roger L. A History of Castle Caereinion School, 1797-1995. 1995. 99pp

Brown, Roger L. Castle Caereinion in the past. Castle Caereinion : Michael Rogers at the Post Office, 2002. 24p

Brown, Roger L. St Garmon's Church, Castle Caereinion : a short history & guide.  Welshpool : R.L. Brown, 1997. 5p

Brown, Roger L. Church and Clergy at Castle Caereinion. Welshpool : Gwasg Eglwys y Trallwng, 1997. 91p

Brown, Roger L. Parish and pauper : a history of the administration of the Poor Law in the parish of Castle Caereinion, Montgomeryshire. Welshpool : Gwasg Eglwys y Trallwng , 1999. 111p

Parish of Castle Caereinion : Parish Church of St Garmon, New Graveyard, Cwmgolau Presbyterian Chapel, Maes-y-Groes Methodist Chapel : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c1997. 73p

Parish of Castle Caereinion : register of baptisms, burials and marriages 1663-1743. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 124p

The Castle of Caereinion            Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire  Vol 32  1902   Welsh Journals Online

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Castle Caereinion parish 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 6540 acres; Population 385 males, 340 females, total 725

CASTLE CAEREINION, St. Garmon   1860-1865    - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Garmon, Castle Caereinion on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Jerusalem  section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Description and Travel

Castle Caereinion on the Castle Wales site

Gazetteers

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Castle Caereinion in 1836, and 1902

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Castell Caereinion / Castle Caereinion


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 7 April 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI