GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Montgomeryshire Montgomeryshire   Contents Contents

MANAFON

Bibliography

R S Thomas - on Wikipedia

Brown, Roger L. Sad, mad or bad : the case of Evan Jenkins, Rector of Manafon. Montgomeryshire Collections 83 (1995), p. 177-88 Parish of Manafon, Parish Church of St Michael and Beulah Presbyterian Chapel : memorial inscriptons. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1996. 49p.  And 1998, 54p

Pritchard, T W. Manafon Church. Much Wenlock : R.J.L. Smith, c1998. 20p

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Manafon 1841-1901

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics; Area 6635 acres; Population 390 males, 376 females, total 766

Church of St Michael, Manafon on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru   (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Manafon section, Byrwydd chapel (in Brynhwdog) (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

St Asaph Notitiae; Deanery of Cedewain, parish of Manafon 1681? - on the NLW site

Gazetteers

History

RS Thomas and the problem of Welsh Identity ( (site disappeared June 2012)   by Jeffery A Triggs. "......... In the early 1940's, Thomas took over the parish of Manafon, a town near the English border where 'most people spoke with a Shropshire accent using a strange admixture of Welsh idioms' ............''

Land and Property

Cut away drawing of Pen-y-Bont, Manafon - on the People's Collection Wales site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;  

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Manafon in 1836, and 1902

Schools

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Manafon


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 3 July 2012 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI