Hide

Boulton

hide
Hide
Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

The Derby City Library is an excellent resource with a Local History section and a Family History section.

topup

Cemeteries

We have a pop-up window of a partial extract of Parish Register burials in a text file for your review. Your additions are welcomed.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Shardlow sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2006 and 2140
1861 R.G. 9 / 2490
1891 R.G. 12 / 2721 & 2722
topup

Church History

  • Although a small Norman church was built here by the Sacheverell family around 1150, this was a chapelry of St. Peter's Church in Derby (officially recognised as such in 1281).
     
  • Boulton was formed as a separate ecclesiastical parish from St. Peter in 1730.
     
  • The chapel is dedicated to The Blessed Virgin Mary (also recorded as "St. Mary the Virgin").
     
  • The chapel was extended by 12 feet in 1840 and the rest of the fabric of the building was thoroughly repaired.
     
  • The chapel was again restored in 1871.
     
  • The chapel seats 340.
     
  • John BLAYLOCK has a photograph of the Lychgate and the chancel on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2004.
     
  • Saint Mary's Church has its own Website but little history is evident.
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1614, but are partly included in Alvaston.
     
  • Marriages at Boulton, 1756-1812 are available in Nigel BATTY-SMITH's database of scanned images of Phillimore's Parish Registers.
     
  • The Family History Library has "Boulton marriages, 1756 to 1812" on microfilm, as well as the Bishop's Transcripts for 1662 - 1880.
     
  • The chapel is in the rural deanery of Melbourne.
     
  • The Primitive Methodists built a chapel here before 1891.
     
  • The Baptists had a chapel here in the 20th century.
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Shardlow sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
topup

Description & Travel

"BOULTON, a chapelry in the parish of Derby St. Peter, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, in the county of Derby, 3 miles to the S.E. of Derby. The Midland railway and the Derby canal pass near it. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Lichfield, of the value of £120, in the patronage of the landholders. The church is old, and partly in the Norman style."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin HINSON ©2003]

This place is 123 miles north of London, lies just south-east of Derby and south of Alvaston and covers 1,591 acres. Today the parish is a ward in the conurbation of Derby city.

You can see pictures of Boulton which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Boulton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK386325 (Lat/Lon: 52.888576, -1.427763), Boulton which are provided by:

topup

Military History

topup

Military Records

There are the Commonwealth War Grave names in St. Mary's churchyard:

  1. sapper Thomas ATTERBURY, R.E.
  2. aircraft. 1st. Raymond Edgar George COCKBURN, R.A.F.V.R.
  3. gunner Walter DAVIES, R.A.
  4. sapper Douglas Walter GLEW, R.E.
  5. private M. GOBBETT, R.A.M.C.
  6. flying ofc. Bernard HALL, R.A.F.V.R.
  7. private Samuel HALLSWORTH, K.O.Y.L.I.
  8. private Arthur HOLLOWELL, Connaught Rangers
  9. sergeant Philip Fred PALMER, R.A.F.
  10. corporal Fred PARKER, Sher. Foresters
  11. private Reginald PARKER, R.A.M.C.
  12. driver Lawrence SCOTT, R.A.S.C.
  13. sergeant Roy SMITH, R.A.F.V.R.
  14. Co. Qtrm. Srgt. Edward SWINBURN, Sher. Foresters
  15. Ldg. stoker Frederick W. WATSON, R.N.
  16. driver Edgar George WEAVER, R.F.A.
  17. gunner Ernest George WHOTTON, R.F.A.
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry and Township in Derby St. Peter parish in Derbyshire and it became a separate, modern Civil Parish shortly after those were established.
     
  • This parish was in the ancient Morleston and Litchurch Hundred (or Wapentake).
     
  • In 1884, this civil parish was absorbed as a ward of the city of Derby.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Derby petty session hearings.
     
  • There is an index of a pair of Boulton Bastardy Papers held at the DRO on the Yesterdays Journey website. Select "Bastardy Papers" on the left side, then "Boulton" from the list of parishes displayed.
     
  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1802.
     
  • The Family History Library has "Boulton Poor law records, 1720-1795" on microfilm.
     
  • As a result of the Poorlaw Amendment Act of 1834 reforms, the parish became part of the Shardlow Poorlaw Union.
topup

Schools

Chris J. DIXON has a photograph of the Oakwood Infant School on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2005. I believe this is technically the Oakwood Infant and Nursery School on Walden Drive. It is a relatively recent school establishment, not very far from Oakwood Junior School.