From White's Devonshire Directory of 1850

DOWN, (EAST) a small village, in a picturesque valley, 6½ miles N.N.E. of Barnstaple, has in its parish 473 souls, and 3643 acres of land, rising in bold hills on the north, and including the hamlets of Churchill, Brockham, and Shortacombe. The manor belonged to the ancient family of Downe, till the reign of Edward III., when it passed to an ancestor of the Coffin family. The late Rev. Chas. Pine Coffin, who died in January, 1850, was lord of the manor and rector of the parish, and his relict resides at the Manor House. C.J.S.P. Coffin, Esq., is lord of the manor of East Down, and Sir J.P.B. Chichester, Bart., is lord of the manor of Churchill, formerly held by the St. Aubin and Ley families. Mr. James Harris, John and Rd. Richards, and several smaller owners have estates in the parish. The Church (St. John,) is an ancient structure, in the perpendicular style, with a tower and four bells. It has undergone many repairs, and the windows are modern insertions. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £18. 13s. 9d.. and in 1831 at £383, is in the patronage of C. Chichester, Esq., and has a handsome new residence, and 87A. of glebe. The tithes were commuted in 1843, for £385 per annum. Here is a Wesleyan Chapel. The poor have the dividends of £l65. 0s. 8d. three per cent. consols, purchased with £100 left by Edw. Pine, in 1802. They have also the interest of £6, left by G. Horwood and W. Lancey.

Burgess Wm. blacksmith
Coffin Mrs C.P. & C.J.S.P., Esq., Manor House
Delve Edw. and Hassell J. carpentrs
Harris Jas. Esq. & Mrs E.W. Viveham
Mayne Jas. shopkeeper, &c

FARMERS. (* at Churchill.)

Barrow John || Chugg Wm.
Chugg Walter, Mills || Crang Wm.
Davis James, Lower Viveham
Garnish Anthony, Shortacombe
Jones Geo. Harper, Oakwell
Lerwell Wm. || Passmore Richard
Richards Jas. || Rowe Wm.
Richards John & Richard, Northcote
*Smithy Chas. || *Smith Thomas
*Tamlyn Jas. || *Tamlyn Wm.

Brian Randell, 26 Aug 1999