Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Shobrooke

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Shobrooke

"SHOBROOKE, a village and a parish, in the vale of the small river Creedy, 2½ miles E.N.E. of Crediton, contains many scattered farm-houses, 787 inhabitants, and 3835A. of land. J.H. Hippisley, Esq., owns a great part of the soil, and is lord of the manors of Shobrooke and Little Fulford, the latter of which extends into Crediton parish. He has a handsome seat here, called Fulford Park. . . . G.S. Fursdon owns part of West Raddon estate, and several smaller freeholders have estates in the parish. Part of West Raddon belongs to the Westcote family, and Thomas Westcote, the antiquary, was born there in 1567, and was buried at Shobrooke about 1640. . . . A small fair is held at Shobrooke, on July 9th. The Church is a fine ancient structure, with a tower and six bells, and the rectory, valued in K.B. at £36, is annexed to the Bishopric of Exeter. The glebe is 21 acres, and the tithes were commuted in 1841 for £560 per annum. The Rectory House, built about 60 years ago, is occupied by the curate. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in West Budleigh Hundred, and the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter. Efford is a modern (1892) chapel of ease here.

topup

Biography

Macdonald, Violet M. The Letters of Eliza Pierce 1751-1771, Haslewood Books (1927). [Devon FHS Library B/PIE]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Swithin is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 7 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M20).

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Shobrooke area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1539 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1538-1799, and Marriages 1538-1638, 1654-1812.

Shobrooke, Devon: edited transcripts of parish registers 1539-1812 with family reconstitutions and other evidence. Typescript (1990) 121p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/SHO/1539]
Deanery Of Cadbury - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 And Burials 1813-1837, CD060, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Brampford Speke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Cadbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Cadeleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1810-1837; Cheriton Fitzpaine Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Colebrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Crediton Presbyterian Chapel Bur: 1826-1837; Crediton Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Down St Mary Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1770-1837; Kennerleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Morchard Bishop Bapt: 1813-1837 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Nether Exe Bapt: 1814-1851 Mar: 1773-1807 Bur: 1813-1856; Newton St. Cyres Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Poughill Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1770-1837; Sandford Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Shobrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh English Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh Pomeroy Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1752-1837 Bur: 1813-1851; Thorverton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1839 Bur: 1813-1837; Upton Hellions Bapt: 1813-1842 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1678-1929; Upton Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1800-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Shobrooke  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Shobrooke which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Shobrooke to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Horwill, David M. A Brief History of the Horwell and Horwill Families from Shobrooke in Devon. [DFHS Library 929.2/HOR]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Shobrooke has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Brunton, John. A Brawl at a Shobrooke Parish Meeting, c.1758. In Devon Documents (ed. T. Gray). Tiverton: Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, Special Issue (1996) [ISBN 0925836203] pp.27-31.
Foster, R.A. Shobrooke through the ages. Typescript [1965] 95 leaves: maps. [Westcountry Studies Library]
Jukes, Worthington. The church and domesday manors of the parish of Shobrooke, Devon. 1924 [Exeter Univ. Lib.]
topup
topup

Military History

Darling, Leo. A Very Special Remembrance Day in Shobrooke, Devon Family Historian, vol. 141, (2012) pp.4-6. [Lists existing and newly-added names on WW2 war memorial
topup

Names, Personal

Shobrooke contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Probate Records

Morris, G.T.Windyer. Westcote and Northcote families. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 13:7, (1925) pp.325. [Will of Mary Westcote, widow of Thomas Westcote, historian, 1665-1666]