Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Sutcombe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Sutcombe

"SUTCOMBE, a pleasant village, on the north side of the small river Waldon, five miles N. by W. of Holsworthy, has in its parish 523 souls, and 3953 acres of land. The manorial rights are very small, and the nominal lord of the manor is Mr. Walter, of West Putford. Earl Stanhope owns a great part of the parish, and the rest belongs to Wm. Allin, Esq., of Theoborough, or Thoborough, and a number of smaller owners. The Church (St. Andrew,) is an ancient structure, with a fine Norman porch, and a tower and three bells. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £17. 10s. 7½d., and in 1831 at £201, is in the patronage of the Rev. W.B. Coham, LL.B., and incumbency of the Rev. F.H. Briggs, M.A., who has 67½ acres of glebe, and a handsome residence, built in 1849-'50, and having tasteful grounds. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Black Torrington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Clark, Eric A.G. Town Farm Rick Yard - Country recollections of a wartime refugee, Devon Family Historian, vol. 148, (2013) pp.9-12.
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Aldridge, Nicola. (trans.) Sutcombe (St Andrew). Devonshire monumental inscriptions, vol. 10 (1998). [SoG DE/M25]
Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Sutcombe area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Sutcombe - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Prideaux, Edith K. Sutcombe church and its builders. Exeter: J.G. Commin (1913) 46, [2] pp. fold. front. (plan) illus., plates, fold. geneal. tables (in pocket). (Devon and Cornwall notes & queries, vol. 8, pt. 2.)
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1654, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1597, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1800-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel, Upcott: Registers for c1817-37 - see Holsworthy (PRO RG 4/1210)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1597-1601, 1613-1641, 1654-1675, 1685-1765, 1775-1783, 1794, 1803-1816, 184-1858, 1872.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbots Bickington, Ashwater, Black Torrington, Bradford, Bradworthy, Bridgerule, Clawton, Cookbury, Halwill, Hollacombe, Holsworthy, Luffincott, Milton Damerel, Pancrasweek, Pyworthy, Sutcombe, Tetcott, Thornbury, West Putford and Holsworthy Weslyan Burials. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850), Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902) and A Topographical Dictionary of England, Samuel Lewis (1831), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Abbots Bickington Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1770-1833 Bur: 1813-1837; Ashwater Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Black Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bradford Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1705-1837; Bradworthy Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bridgerule Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clawton Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Cookbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1841; Halwill Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1843; Hollacombe Bapt: 1813-1898 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1852; Holsworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1860 Bur: 1813-1837; Holsworthy Weslyan Bapt: 1812-1831; Luffincott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1814-1840; Milton Damerel Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1761-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pancrasweek Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pyworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Sutcombe Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Tetcott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1813-1837; Thornbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; West Putford Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1838.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Sutcombe  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Sutcombe which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Sutcombe to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Rowland Family Tree web-site (archived copy).

topup

Heraldry

Lega-Weekes. Wyke Arms. Devon & Cornwall Notes and Queries vol. IX, (January 1916 to January 1917), pp. 123-4. [Transcript]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Sutcombe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the parish of Sutcombe, Devon. Typescript (1964) 8p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/SUT/0001/WIL]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Transcription by J.M. Jolliffe of the Sutcombe section of the Devon Protestation Return (1642) held in the House of Lords Record Office.

topup

Probate Records

Transcription of the will of George Prideaux (1651) by J. M. Jolliffe.

Summary of the will of Michael Mallet (1636), provided by Mike Mallett.