Hide
Heysham
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
Heysham, par. and vil., N. Lancashire, on Morecambe Bay, 5 miles SW. of Lancaster, 1774 ac., pop. 632; P.O.; in vicinity are the seats of Heysham Hall, Heysham Lodge, and Heysham Tower; at High Heysham are remains of an ancient chapel, the property of the Stanleys.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Hide
| St Peter, Heysham, Church of England |
Details about the census records, and indexes for Heysham.
The Register Office covering the Heysham area is Lancaster.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"HEYSHAM, a parish in the hundred of Lonsdale South of the Sands, county Lancaster, 5 miles W. of Lancaster, its post town, and 3 S.W. of Poulton-le-Sands. The village, which is small, is situated on the coast between Lancaster and Morecambe bays, and is a favourite watering place during the summer season. The land is nearly evenly divided between arable and pasture, with about 170 acres of moss. The tithes have been commuted for a rent-charge of £470. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester, value £504. The church is situated on a rock, and is dedicated to St. Peter. It is an ancient stone structure with an open turret containing two bells. There is an endowed school for the free education of eight boys and a similar number of girls. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. Near to the church are the ruins of a small oratory or chapel, and several excavations in the rocks resembling the shape of coffins."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Heysham to another place.
Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
View maps of Heysham and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD411614 (Lat/Lon: 54.04563, -2.901082), Heysham which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heysham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.