Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Billesdon Poorlaw Union

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Billesdon Poorlaw Union


  • The Billesdon Union was established by the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act and was formed in 1836.
  • The Billesdon Union included 36 parishes; Allexton, Billesdon, Burton Overy, Bushby, Carlton Curlieu, Cold Newton, East Norton, Evington, Frisby, Galby, Glen Magna, Goadby, Great Stretton, Halstead, Houghton-on-the-Hill, Humberstone, Hungarton, Illston-on-the-Hill, Keyham, King's Norton, Little Stretton, Loddington, Lowesby, Marefield, Newton Harcourt, Nosely, Owston, Rolleston, Scraptoft, Skeffington, Stoughton, Thurnby, Tilton, Tugby, Whatborough, Wistow and Withcote.
  • The number and names of parishes in the Union would vary over time. In 1892, Evington and Humberstone parishes were transferred to Leicester Poorlaw Union.
  • The Union Workhouse was 9 miles east of Leicester city.
  • The Union House was built on rising ground on the north side of Billesdon village. It was designed to hold 100 inmates.
  • The Union House was completed and opened in January, 1846.
  • The Board of Guardians met on alternate Mondays at the Workhouse.


 Year Inhabitants
1831 6,609
1841 6,810
1861 7,272
1871 7,569
1881 10,073
1891 6,309
1901 6,172
1911 6,913


  • 1881: Thomas INGRAM, Clerk to the Board of Guardians; Robert HORSPOOL, workhouse master; W. F. FRANKS, surgeon; Rev. WIlliam Greville HAZLERIGG, chaplain; Mrs. Elizabeth HORSPOOL, workhouse matron.
  • 1899: W. E. RICHARDSON, Clerk to the Board of Guardians; William Unwin HEYGATE, Treasurer; Thomas Kerr HAMBY, relieving officer; William WADKIN, workhouse master; Edward WILLIAMS, medical officer; Rev. Charles Rowland FOWKE, chaplain, Mrs. Emma WADKIN, workhouse matron.
  • 1912: William Henry KENDALL, chairman; Walter Edward RICHARDSON, Clerk to the Board of Guardians; Samuel Francis STONE, Treasurer; William WADKIN, workhouse master; Edward Kynaston WILLIAMS, medical officer; Rev. George CHRISTIAN, chaplain, Mrs. Emma WADKIN, workhouse matron.
  • 1925: William Henry KENDALL, chairman; Walter Edward RICHARDSON, Clerk to the Board of Guardians; Oliver WEAVER, Treasurer; Sydney John SMITH, workhouse master; Edward Kynastan WILLIAMS, M.A. medical officer; Rev. Frederick WILSON, B.A., chaplain, Mrs. Louie SMITH, workhouse matron.