Hide

Burton Pedwardine

hide
Hide
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
     
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 615
1861 R.G. 9 / 2345
1871 R.G. 10 / 3352
1891 R.G. 12 / 2579
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
     
  • The church was built in 1330-40 by Sir Roger PEDWARDINE.
     
  • The old Norman tower fell down in 1802 and was replaced the next year.
     
  • The present church was built on almost the same site in 1870-71.
     
  • The church seats 70.
     
  • The church is a Grade II listed building with British Heritage.
     
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of the Church of St Andrew on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.
     
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

image

topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1765 for baptisms and burials and 1736 for marriages.
     
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1765 to 1812 and Marriages from 1765 to 1811.
     
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
     
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
     
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

Burton Pedwardine is a village and a parish just 5 miles southeast of Sleaford. Heckington parish is to the east and Scredington parish to the south. The parish covers just under 1,900 acres.

The village is little more than a hamlet. If you are planning a visit:

  • The village lies about a mile and a half south of Asgarby off of the A17 trunk road.
     
  • See our touring page for more sources.
     
You can see pictures of Burton Pedwardine which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Burton Pedwardine has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • There is the base and shaft of a 15th century cross about two miles west of the village, between the railway line and the Roman King Street. Mareham Grange used to stand near the cross, so the road is called Mareham Lane.
topup

Manors

  • Mareham Hall had disappeared by 1911.
topup

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF119421 (Lat/Lon: 52.964598, -0.335393), Burton Pedwardine which are provided by:

topup

Military Records

For a photograph of the Buton Pedwardine War Memorial Roll in the church and the names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

topup

Names, Geographical

  • The name Burton Pedwardine is tied to the PEDWARDINE family, ancient lords of the manor of this parish, who came here from the Fens county of Herefordshire over six centuries ago.
     
  • The parish name is often found spelled as Burton Penwardine. But locals insist on saying the name correctly, so do not be detered by the spelling errors of others.
     
  • The website author has no information on why the parish is sometimes called Hussey.
     
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
     
  • The citizens of the parish have decided to forgo a formal Parish Council, but do hold periodic Parish Meetings to vote on civic or political issues. There is NO staff to assist you with family searches.
     
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1802.
     
  • The parish had a poor's land of 3 acres.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
     
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 94
1841 125
1871 161
1881 202
1891 163
1901 154
1911 135
1921 151
topup

Schools

  • A small National School was built here in 1860 to hold 40 students. The school was enlarged in 1910.
     
  • Terry BUTCHER has a photograph of that old school on Geo-graph, taken in 2006.
     
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.