Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Paul's Cathedral

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Paul's Cathedral

"ST. PAUL'S CATHEDRAL, is the most magnificent Protestant church in Europe, and was built by Sir Christopher Wren, after the fire of London, on the site of the ancient cathedral, and on which had been formerly a Roman temple. This cathedral flourished exceedingly during the Saxon heptarchy, and was splendidly endowed by various royal and noble benefactors. It underwent a substantial repair in the reign of James I., under the superintendance of Inigo Jones, who added to it the incongruity of one of the finest Corinthian porticoes of modern times. It was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the present edifice erected in its stead. . . In 1673, Wren commenced preparations for the new building, and submitted various designs for the inspection of the King and the commissioners. . . The present one is said to have been constructed on the Roman Catholic cathedral plan, through the influence of the king's brother, James, Duke of York, who wished to have it ready for the revival of the Popish service. The architect, it is said, shed tears at its rejection, and complied with the royal mandate with regret." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Farringdon Within Ward.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Paul's Cathedral.

St Paul's Cathedral Archives at Guildhall Library - "a brief general guide".

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Paul's Cathedral area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Old St Paul's Cathedral, in the Medieval London website - an account of its history.

St Paul's Cross by P.E. Jones, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

Cathedral History Timeline - from the St Paul's Cathedral website.

St Paul's Cathedral website - History Section.

Dugdale, William, Sir. The history of St. Paul's Cathedral in London, from its foundation ... : beautified with sundry prospects of the old fabrick, which was destroyed by the fire of that city, 1666 . . .. London : Printed by George James, for Jonah Bowyer ..., (1716) [Full text]
Benham, William. Old St Paul's Cathedral, New York: The Macmillan Company (1902) [Full text and illustrations]
Dugdale, William, Sir. The history of St. Pauls cathedral in London, from its foundation untill these times: extracted out of originall charters. records. leiger books, and other manuscripts. Beautified with sundry prospects of the church, figures of tombes, and monuments. London, Printed by Tho. Warren (1658) [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Paul's Cathedral are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Clay, J.W. The Registers of St Pauls Cathedral Harleian Society, London (1899) 243 pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Paul's Cathedral.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Paul's Cathedral.

You can see pictures of St Paul's Cathedral which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Paul's Cathedral to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Paul's Cathedral has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

St Paul's Cathedral Conservation Area - "Character Summary & Management Strategy" - contains maps. photographs and an account of its historical development.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Paul's Cathedral - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Schools

History - St Paul's School website.

St Paul's School, a paper by Sir Alexander Graham, to the Guildhall Historical Association.