Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Bishops of Durham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Bishops of Durham

Dates Name
 955-1018 Aldhun
1020-1041 Eadmund
1041-104? Eadred
1042-1056 Aethelric
1056-1071 Aethelwin
1071-1080 Walcher
1081-1096 William of St Calais
1099-1128 Rannulph Flambard
1133-1140 Geoffrey Rufus
1143-1152 William of St Barbara
1153-1195 Hugh of Le Puiset
1197-1208 Philip of Poitou
1217-1225 Richard Marsh
1229-1237 Richard le Poor
1241-1248 Nicholas Farnham
1249-1260 Walter Kirkham
1260-1274 Robert Stichill
1274-1283 Robert of Holy Island
1284-1310 Antony Bek
1311-1316 Richard Kellaw
1318-1333 Lewis de Beaumont
133}-1345 Richard of Bury
1345-1381 Thomas Hatfield
1382-1388 John Fordham
1388-1406 Walter Skirlaw
1406-1437 Thomas Langley
1437-1457 Robert Neville
1457-1476 Laurence Booth
1476-1483 Wllliam Dudley
1484-1494 John Sherwood
1494-1501 Richard Fox
1502-1505 William Senhouse
1507-1508 Christopher Bainbridge
1509-1523 Thomas Ruthall
1523-1529 Thomas Wolsey
1530-1559 Cuthbert Tunstall
1561-1576 James Pilkington
1577-1587 Richard Barnes
1589-1595 Matthew Hutton
1595-1606 Tobias Matthew
1606-1617 William James
1617-1627 Richard Neile
1628 George Monteigne
1628-1632 John Howson
1632-1659 Thomas Morton
1660-1672 John Cosin
1674-1722 Nathaniel Crewe
1722-1730 William Talbot
1730-1750 Edward Chandler
1750-1752 Joseph Butler
1752-1771 Richard Trevor
1771-1787 John Egerton
1787-1791 Thomas Thurlow
1791-1826 The Hon. Shute Barrington
1826-1836 William Van Mildert
1836-1856 Edward Maltby
1856-1860 Charles Thomas Longley
1860-1861 The Hon. Henry Montague Villiers
1861-1879 Charles Baring
1879-1889 Joseph Barber Lightfoot
1890-1901 Brooke Foss Westcott
1901-1920 Handley Carr Glyn Moule
1920-1939 Herbert Hensley Henson
1939-1952 Alwyn Terre Petre Wllliams
1952-1956 Arthur Michael Ramsey
1956-1966 Maurice Henry Harland
1966-1972 Ian Thomas Ramsey
1973-1983 John Stapylton Habgood
1984-1994 David Edward Jenkins
1994- Anthony Michael Arnold Turnbull
Return to top of page