Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Suffolk Poor Law Unions

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Suffolk Poor Law Unions

Poor Houses, Poor Law, etc.

Suffolk Poor Law Unions

There were eighteen Poor Law Unions in Suffolk.



Blything Union at The Workhouse site.

Article on this workhouse at Bulcamp at Suffolk Churches.

Bosmere & Claydon

Bosmere & Claydon Union at The Workhouse site.

Bury St Edmunds

Bury St Emunds Union at The Workhouse site.


Cosford Union at The Workhouse site.


Hartismere Union at The Workhouse site.


Hoxne Union at The Workhouse site.


Ipswich Union at The Workhouse site.


Mildenhall Union at The Workhouse site.

Mutford & Lothingland

Mutford & Lothingland Union at The Workhouse site.


Newmarket Union at The Workhouse site.


"PLOMESGATE, a district and a hundred in the S E of Suffolk. The district comprehends the sub-district of Earl-Soham, containing the parishes of Earl-Soham, Kenton, Brandeston, Kettleburgh, Cretingham, Monewden, and Hoo; the sub-district of Framlingham, containing the parishes of Framlingham, Parham, Easton, and Letheringham; the sub-district of Wickham-Market, containing the parishes of Wickham-Market, Hacheston, Marlesford, Campsey-Ash, Blaxhall, Rendlesham, and Eyke; the sub-district of Orford, containing the parishes of Orford, Sudbourne, Iken, Tunstall, Wantisden, Chillesford, and Butley, and the extra-parochial tracts of Havergate-Island, and Gedgrave; the sub-district of Aldeburgh, containing the parishes of Aldeburgh, Hazlewood, Friston, Snape, Sternfield, Benhall, Farnham, and Stratford, St. Andrew; and the sub-district of Saxmundham, containing the parishes of Saxmundham, Rendham, Swefling, Bruisyard, Cransford, Great Glemham, and Little Glemham. ...

... The workhouse is in Wickham-Market; and, at the census of 1861, had 133 inmates. The hundred comprehends only the Aldeburgh and Saxmundham sub-districts, six parishes of Orford sub-district, and one in each of two other sub-districts." 

(From John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)).

Plomesgate Union at The Workhouse site.

Plomesgate Union at Vision of Britain.

Plomesgate Union at Deben Court (contains some broken links).

Plomesgate Union at Historic England.

Plomesgate Hundred at GENUKI.

"Between a Rock and a Hard Place : The Poor Law Commission's Migration Scheme, 1835-37" - University Thesis, University of Central Lancashire.


Risbridge Union at The Workhouse site.


Samford Union at The Workhouse site.


Stow Union at The Workhouse site.


Sudbury Union at The Workhouse site.


Thingoe Union at The Workhouse site.


Wangford Union at The Workhouse site.


Woodbridge Union at The Workhouse site.