Hide
Swell
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"SWELL, a parish in the hundred of Abdick, county Somerset, 4 miles S.W. of Langport, its post town. The village is near the river Isle. The living is a vicarage* annexed to that of Fivehead, in the diocese of Bath and Wells. The church, dedicated to St. Catherine, is old. The register dates from 1669. Swell Court is now converted into a farmhouse. J. S. Erle Drax, Esq., is lord of the manor." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided Census Transcripts from Swell and surrounding areas.
| St Catherine, Swell |
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Swell parish registers.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided A Transcript of Kellys Directory for Swell for 1875 and 1939
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Swell to another place.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST369236 (Lat/Lon: 51.008111, -2.901034), Swell which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.